Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I hate mayo (and Miracle Whip) and eggs so this was perfect! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I thought it was a little bland as is. I added more chives, dill, a little mustard, and some pickle relish and it was great! I keep going back for bites. Husband liked it too. He said it was good but I think he misses the mayo and eggs...too bad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great base recipe I could bend and make more personal by adding our family's favorite potato salad ingredients. To make a baked potato salad, I added in crumbled bacon, chopped green onions, shredded sharp cheddar and a few spices. I also used reduced fat sour cream. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very nice change from mayo-based potato salad. I followed the recipe, but did add extra chives (another 1/8 cup), 1/8 c chopped fresh dill, a few tbs chopped fresh parsley and tbs very finely chopped rosemary, and combined the dressing ahead of time to let the flavors blend while the potatoes were cooking & chilling. Took to a potluck & was very good. Has the flavor profile of a good sour cream/chive baked potato, in handy salad form. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent, tangy, without mayo. Needed salt and pepper, but was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Love this potato salad! Make sure youre not shy with the salt after the it sits in the fridge over night or for a couple hours, also I added some white pepper, it had such a great creaminess. Everyone loved it a our work picnic! no one could tell that it was low fat, they appreciated that it wasnt super heavy like most mayo salads are!... I even used low fat plain yogurt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Not bad but needs some bacon flavoring in it. I needed my potatoes to be a bit softer than normal so the flavors mixed more together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earnold

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I added crumbed bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. The sauce needed more "zip", so I added part of a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dip mix. Also, no yogurt on hand, so I used light sour cream. Turned out great. Best made the night before serving or at least several hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was pretty good, though not outstanding, as written. I followed the recipe exactly, and at the end was left with something that was significantly lighter than a traditional mayo-based potato salad, but also much more bland. I helped the flavor by adding another clump of chives from the garden (an additional 50% of what the recipe called for, I think), a bunch of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. By the time I was done I probably would have rated it a 4, but only a 3 as written. It's a great idea and it went over well at the party I was at, so I might experiment with it to find a better balance of flavors, but I probably won't make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Yummy!!! Added bacon and used half sour cream and half ranch dressing soooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for my potato salad. I was looking for something that didn't have mayo in it. I used less yogurt and more sour cream (i used greek yogurt) I also added vidalia onions, hard boiled eggs, extra scallions and celery (if you just mix the onions, yogurt, sour cream celery, s/p and scallions together it makes a great dip) all in all it came out great...hubby loved it..i recommend letting it sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States