Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This salad was great. I made a few minor changes, I used greek yogurt because it's thicker and creamer. Added fresh dill, increased the chives and added crumbled bacon. My husband does not like potatoes but he loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yummy salad! I did add cheese and bacon bits. Some have called this baked potato salad. It's a nice change from the regular mustard potato salad :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Quite tasty on its own, but I found that it needed just a little something, so I added ~2T dijon mustard and ~1/4C finely chopped onions after the fact. I also used lowfat sour cream and lowfat greek yogurt. I was really shocked at how good it was given how much healthier it is than your standard potato salad. I think some hard cooked egg whites would also be a welcome addition--and maybe some celery, too--if you're looking to make it more "traditional" in texture and content. I'm going to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My mom made a version of this and I loooooved it! Thanks for posting this recipe, now I know how to make it. We add crumbled bacon...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I thought this recipe was extremely bland. I liked it as a base recipe and then I added my own pizzazz. I added whole grain mustard, celery, garlic salt, & bacon. The mustard gave it a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was a little bland, so I added a pound of crumbled bacon and a few shakes of red pepper flakes. It added some kick without being too hot. I would prefer it a little creamier next time. It tasted like a loaded baked potato. It was good. Had lots of compliments with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a really good potato salad. I went through the reviews and so many people added a bunch of stuff to this like bacon, eggs, cheese. It's a totally different salad at that point. This is meant to be light! I added a little more chives and let it sit overnight. The flavor of the chives really came through. I added a little Miracle Whip for some added zip - not much, just a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I like the yogurt and sour cream mixture, but it was a little bland even after I added some dried dill. Next time I will increase the amount of salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
not enough flavor and texture for potatoe salad. was missing celery, eggs, onions etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrbobajango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a simple and plain potato salad but I really liked it.I do think the chives give it flavor, and I like its creaminess. I'm not a big mayo fan, so I liked this better than potato salads made with mayonnaise. It's easy to make and doesn't take much time, either. I do think it would be good with some things added to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States