Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I hate mayo (and Miracle Whip) and eggs so this was perfect! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I thought it was a little bland as is. I added more chives, dill, a little mustard, and some pickle relish and it was great! I keep going back for bites. Husband liked it too. He said it was good but I think he misses the mayo and eggs...too bad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great base recipe I could bend and make more personal by adding our family's favorite potato salad ingredients. To make a baked potato salad, I added in crumbled bacon, chopped green onions, shredded sharp cheddar and a few spices. I also used reduced fat sour cream. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very nice change from mayo-based potato salad. I followed the recipe, but did add extra chives (another 1/8 cup), 1/8 c chopped fresh dill, a few tbs chopped fresh parsley and tbs very finely chopped rosemary, and combined the dressing ahead of time to let the flavors blend while the potatoes were cooking & chilling. Took to a potluck & was very good. Has the flavor profile of a good sour cream/chive baked potato, in handy salad form. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent, tangy, without mayo. Needed salt and pepper, but was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Love this potato salad! Make sure youre not shy with the salt after the it sits in the fridge over night or for a couple hours, also I added some white pepper, it had such a great creaminess. Everyone loved it a our work picnic! no one could tell that it was low fat, they appreciated that it wasnt super heavy like most mayo salads are!... I even used low fat plain yogurt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Not bad but needs some bacon flavoring in it. I needed my potatoes to be a bit softer than normal so the flavors mixed more together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earnold

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I added crumbed bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. The sauce needed more "zip", so I added part of a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dip mix. Also, no yogurt on hand, so I used light sour cream. Turned out great. Best made the night before serving or at least several hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was pretty good, though not outstanding, as written. I followed the recipe exactly, and at the end was left with something that was significantly lighter than a traditional mayo-based potato salad, but also much more bland. I helped the flavor by adding another clump of chives from the garden (an additional 50% of what the recipe called for, I think), a bunch of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. By the time I was done I probably would have rated it a 4, but only a 3 as written. It's a great idea and it went over well at the party I was at, so I might experiment with it to find a better balance of flavors, but I probably won't make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Yummy!!! Added bacon and used half sour cream and half ranch dressing soooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for my potato salad. I was looking for something that didn't have mayo in it. I used less yogurt and more sour cream (i used greek yogurt) I also added vidalia onions, hard boiled eggs, extra scallions and celery (if you just mix the onions, yogurt, sour cream celery, s/p and scallions together it makes a great dip) all in all it came out great...hubby loved it..i recommend letting it sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States