Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
These potatoes are so wonderful. They are great as a main dish potato with steak instead of a baked potato. What a great change. Use different types of cheese for a change of pace. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for the Super Bowl and they were absolutely wonderful!! Apparently our small red potatoes were larger than Maddiecat's as it only took 10 to make 1 1/2 lbs. I just boiled them for about 16 minutes until firm but tender. I also didn't have chives so I grated in about 1 tsp of onion. The result was outstanding. I do think they are too rich to be used as a side dish as recommended by the first review, but they are a real winner as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Although these are basically the same as any "Twice baked potato", they're absolutely adorable and are a perfect little appetizer for any party. Guys love spuds, so give it a try when the "muscles" come walking in. (We gals loved 'em too) Thanks Maddie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I didn't have much success with these and ended up adding heavy cream to make mashed potatoes. May try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I tasted the filling before stuffing the little potatoes and thought it needed something so I added some garlic powder and melted butter. I thought it was better with these additions, more calories, but I never skimp on calories when I am feeding guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was a good side dish. I used garlic ranch dressing and added chives. Next time I make this I will cook the potatoes in the oven longer to get a little crisp and then add cheese and chives at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I just did the seasonings to taste, and didn't use chives(forgot 'em)..they still were a hit. A little time consuming to make- hollowing out the potato halves takes awhile, especially if you are trying to get maximum space for filling without butchering the potatoes through the skin (careful!). There wasn't a single one left. Great sports party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I was planning on making these for a party. I have made twice baked potatoes before, and these were so hard to scoop out! The skin kept falling off. These may be good, but I won't make them again because nothing tastes good enough for the frustration that I experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Excellent. I used whole baking potatos and just sectioned them. But my family Loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
great recipe. I made these and they were a big hit. My only suggestion is to use a melon baller or a rounded measuring spoon to scoop out the centers so you don't break the skins. They are like a cross between potato skins and twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States