Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was a hit at my house. My husband would have eaten all that I made if we did not have dinner guests over. He is not an onion or chive fan, so I left that off the recipe and it still turned out incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Hit of the party! Only reason not 5 stars is the amount of putzy time required to put it all together and keep the skins on the potatoes while handling. Also cut the tip off the bottom of each to keep them from tipping. Brushed the skins with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt to keep skins crispy. Skipped the bacon and season salt. Substituted parmesan for cheddar cheese. Substituted fresh rosemary for chives. Reduced sour cream by half and added 2 oz of cream cheese and 1 oz cream. These kept well in the oven when guests arrived late. They also reheated well as leftovers. Next time I will make extra to freeze for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBETRAVLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Great for when company comes over and you want to fancy them. These are not very hard to make but they taste like they are. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were perfect for my wine tasting, as they are bite size and very easy to eat. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is an almost duplicate recipe from Cooking Light. Potatoes do take longer to cook. I used smallest I could find and 15 minutes boiling was not enough. I agree, these take more work than they are worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Houston
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Cute idea, but nothing special taste-wise. Plus, they need to boil longer than 10 minutes, or you won't be able to spoon out the potato very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
These are pretty labor intensive for a side dish. If I want a twice baked red potato, I'll just make a big one. However, I do see value in these as a passed party appy, served chilled! I will make them for parties, but won't put all the "work" into making mini (basically) twice bakeds. I tried to pipe the filling w/a pastry bag, but the potatoes were too chunky to fit through the tip. I cut the bottom off as well so they "set" better on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this as a side dish. It was easy and my kids loved them. I would make them for a pot luck or casual dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
There is one key ingredient to add to this recipe: horseradish. Trust me. Add a dollop to taste and it will be delish. I do not have the patience to scoop and refill. I added butter and horseradish to the ingredient list, heated it in a 375 oven for 20 minutes. Then I topped with cheese and put it back in the oven for 5 minutes. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I cooked my potatoes in the micowave for abcou 5 minues. Cut the edges, so they could stand on their own without rolling. I used a paring knife to cut out the middle since I don't have a melon ball scoop. I used my processor to mix butter, cream cheese, salt, pepper, onion powder, & parsley to my taste. I coated the skins with olive oil to get them crisp and baked for 15 minutes. They were spectacular! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States