Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were really really tasty. You can really add anything you want to these. I made them with the little gourmet potatoes. It was a job getting the potato out because they were so small but it was worth it. They were so dainty! I mashed the potatoes and they were really smooth. Added more chesse. Lish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Absoluteley awesome. Perfect as an appetizer or with a steak dinner. I don't use parsley however, but dill weed is a must. Adjust cooking time for size of potatoes, but otherwise perfect just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
YUM!! This was so good and makes a cute presentation. Used skim milk instead of sour cream to cut fat and it was fabulous! This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
These are awesome appetizers. I made 40 for a party and they were gone before all the guests arrived. I'll have to double the recipe next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura DeSantis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
One easy trick I'd like to share for making these is to cut a small slice off the bottom off two ends of the potao before havling them so the round has a little "flat" on the bottom to keep the potato from rolling around. Very good recipe. Great for rounding out party sized "bites" menu. Great for BBQs or a Super Bowl party too. The recipe could use a little more onion flavor in the form of garlic, green onion or a lot more chives. Still pretty tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I make a similar recipe and it says to place potatoes in a small bowl and drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil. You can sprinkle with 1 Tablespoon kosher salt. Toss to coat and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until tender. Remove from oven and let cool 15 minutes. Cut each potato in half lengthwise. Scoop out potatoes with a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon leaving shells intact. Place back on baking sheet and bake 10 more minutes. Let cool and fill with filling. The 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have been making these for years. I've done alot of catering in the past. An easy trick for these potatoes is to cut in half raw. Scoop out the potato. Salt water and boil the skins. Red potatos are very easy to scoop out raw. Cook the scooped out potato as you would mashed potates. and proceed with receipe. saves time and aggrevation of skins breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I have been making these for a long time. I cut the small red bliss potatoes in half and scoop out the center with the small size melon baller while the potato is still raw. Place the potatoes in a steamer basket and steam them in a pot of water til cooked through. Let cool and fill with your cheese mixture and bake when read to serve....the skins do not break if you scoop the potato raw. Also, I use Asiago cheese...good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These are good and not hard at all. Just don't get the real tiny potatoes. The skins tend to be to soft and break. I just made a circle with a spoon and scoped the potato out. I think next time I will sprinkle a little salt on the potato before I put the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These are very time consuming but worth it. My husband loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States