Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have been making these for years. I've done alot of catering in the past. An easy trick for these potatoes is to cut in half raw. Scoop out the potato. Salt water and boil the skins. Red potatos are very easy to scoop out raw. Cook the scooped out potato as you would mashed potates. and proceed with receipe. saves time and aggrevation of skins breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I cooked my potatoes in the micowave for abcou 5 minues. Cut the edges, so they could stand on their own without rolling. I used a paring knife to cut out the middle since I don't have a melon ball scoop. I used my processor to mix butter, cream cheese, salt, pepper, onion powder, & parsley to my taste. I coated the skins with olive oil to get them crisp and baked for 15 minutes. They were spectacular! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I tasted the filling before stuffing the little potatoes and thought it needed something so I added some garlic powder and melted butter. I thought it was better with these additions, more calories, but I never skimp on calories when I am feeding guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for the Super Bowl and they were absolutely wonderful!! Apparently our small red potatoes were larger than Maddiecat's as it only took 10 to make 1 1/2 lbs. I just boiled them for about 16 minutes until firm but tender. I also didn't have chives so I grated in about 1 tsp of onion. The result was outstanding. I do think they are too rich to be used as a side dish as recommended by the first review, but they are a real winner as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I make a similar recipe and it says to place potatoes in a small bowl and drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil. You can sprinkle with 1 Tablespoon kosher salt. Toss to coat and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until tender. Remove from oven and let cool 15 minutes. Cut each potato in half lengthwise. Scoop out potatoes with a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon leaving shells intact. Place back on baking sheet and bake 10 more minutes. Let cool and fill with filling. The 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
These potatoes are so wonderful. They are great as a main dish potato with steak instead of a baked potato. What a great change. Use different types of cheese for a change of pace. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
These are pretty labor intensive for a side dish. If I want a twice baked red potato, I'll just make a big one. However, I do see value in these as a passed party appy, served chilled! I will make them for parties, but won't put all the "work" into making mini (basically) twice bakeds. I tried to pipe the filling w/a pastry bag, but the potatoes were too chunky to fit through the tip. I cut the bottom off as well so they "set" better on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Although these are basically the same as any "Twice baked potato", they're absolutely adorable and are a perfect little appetizer for any party. Guys love spuds, so give it a try when the "muscles" come walking in. (We gals loved 'em too) Thanks Maddie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I first made these for a friends baby shower and they were a big hit!!!! I'm in the process of making them for our Christmas Day luncheon. Every recipe should be taken as a base to be adjusted by you... I slice the potatoes, place in salted boiling water turn the heat off after 5 mins and let potates sit in the water until tender yet firm. Drain the water w/o removing the potatoes from the pot; run cold water in the pot to speed the cooling. Drizzle with olive oil and sea salt before using a melon baller. I added lots of garlic, butter and use Sharp Cheddar. Oh my they are GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The hit of the potluck! As suggested by anther user, I used a whole bag of pre-cooked bacon crumbles. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States