Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
These potatoes are so wonderful. They are great as a main dish potato with steak instead of a baked potato. What a great change. Use different types of cheese for a change of pace. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for the Super Bowl and they were absolutely wonderful!! Apparently our small red potatoes were larger than Maddiecat's as it only took 10 to make 1 1/2 lbs. I just boiled them for about 16 minutes until firm but tender. I also didn't have chives so I grated in about 1 tsp of onion. The result was outstanding. I do think they are too rich to be used as a side dish as recommended by the first review, but they are a real winner as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Although these are basically the same as any "Twice baked potato", they're absolutely adorable and are a perfect little appetizer for any party. Guys love spuds, so give it a try when the "muscles" come walking in. (We gals loved 'em too) Thanks Maddie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I didn't have much success with these and ended up adding heavy cream to make mashed potatoes. May try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I tasted the filling before stuffing the little potatoes and thought it needed something so I added some garlic powder and melted butter. I thought it was better with these additions, more calories, but I never skimp on calories when I am feeding guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was a good side dish. I used garlic ranch dressing and added chives. Next time I make this I will cook the potatoes in the oven longer to get a little crisp and then add cheese and chives at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I just did the seasonings to taste, and didn't use chives(forgot 'em)..they still were a hit. A little time consuming to make- hollowing out the potato halves takes awhile, especially if you are trying to get maximum space for filling without butchering the potatoes through the skin (careful!). There wasn't a single one left. Great sports party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I was planning on making these for a party. I have made twice baked potatoes before, and these were so hard to scoop out! The skin kept falling off. These may be good, but I won't make them again because nothing tastes good enough for the frustration that I experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Excellent. I used whole baking potatos and just sectioned them. But my family Loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
great recipe. I made these and they were a big hit. My only suggestion is to use a melon baller or a rounded measuring spoon to scoop out the centers so you don't break the skins. They are like a cross between potato skins and twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States