Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Next time I will cook the potatoes for at least five minutes longer as my potatoes were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These turned out great! It was a little bit of a pain scooping out the insides, but once I did a few I got the hang of it. I used pre-cooked bacon bits rather than cooking bacon. I boiled the potatos longer than ten minutes, maybe more like 14 minutes, but they still could've gone a bit longer. I made about 20 of them and baked half on new year's eve, and put the rest in the fridge to bake the next day. They came out yummy both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were really good! I recommend microwaving the potatoes and using Oscar Meyer real bacon pieces as it is much, much faster! I also mixed most of the cheddar cheese in with the potato filling and then topped with the remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good, very easy. This recipe will be in my "party rotation" now. I'm not exact with the measurements because I just use what I have on hand, and that is the beauty of it - it lends itself to substitutions. Anyway, the only change that I suggest (just for ease) is that I use the bagged "real bacon pieces" that you find on the salad dressing isle. It just saves time and mess and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was a hit at my house. My husband would have eaten all that I made if we did not have dinner guests over. He is not an onion or chive fan, so I left that off the recipe and it still turned out incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Hit of the party! Only reason not 5 stars is the amount of putzy time required to put it all together and keep the skins on the potatoes while handling. Also cut the tip off the bottom of each to keep them from tipping. Brushed the skins with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt to keep skins crispy. Skipped the bacon and season salt. Substituted parmesan for cheddar cheese. Substituted fresh rosemary for chives. Reduced sour cream by half and added 2 oz of cream cheese and 1 oz cream. These kept well in the oven when guests arrived late. They also reheated well as leftovers. Next time I will make extra to freeze for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBETRAVLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Great for when company comes over and you want to fancy them. These are not very hard to make but they taste like they are. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were perfect for my wine tasting, as they are bite size and very easy to eat. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is an almost duplicate recipe from Cooking Light. Potatoes do take longer to cook. I used smallest I could find and 15 minutes boiling was not enough. I agree, these take more work than they are worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Houston
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Cute idea, but nothing special taste-wise. Plus, they need to boil longer than 10 minutes, or you won't be able to spoon out the potato very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States