Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I don't eat meat, so I left out the bacon. I did add a little cream style horseradish. If you want to try this just add a a teaspoon then taste before you add more to be sure you have it to your likeing. I suggest the small red potatos to keep them bite size. I fixed these for a brunch for a women's book club here at my condo. Really yummy. I took the advice of another reviewer and sliced a bit off the bottom of each half before boiling to make them sit flat on the serving plate. They looked great. Everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These were really good! I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and basted the potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper. I microwaved the potatoes and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My youngest son who is very picky asked me to make this dish again. Tasted good to me. I just have to find an easier way to scoop the potatoes out without destroying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These were great side dish to our Christmas dinner. My family loved the presentation and flavor of these. I was not crazy about the texture as the directions instructed so I would suggest cooking the potatoes a little longer. I started with a spoon to scoop the insides but quickly pulled out my mellon baller, it made the job a little easier. I didn't have chives but used green onion (scallions) and they were a welcome substitution. Will definitely make again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSIECOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were good. I'm not sure if I liked the texture. I would suggest boiling them longer. I don't think I will make again. They look better than they taste and all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were time consuming but worth it! I added 1 Tbsp of seasoning salt and 1 tsp garlic powder. As other reviewers have said, there was something lacking. The extra seasoning made up for that. Everyone at our party loved them and they didn't stay on the plate long! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Really good and easy. I used gourmet klondike red potatoes. They are really tiny so you can imagine how cute these looked. Before you fill the red potatoes taste the filling to make sure it has enough salt and it has the consistency you like. I added a bit of butter and used a hand held mixer to whip the potatoes. Add a tiny dollop of sour cream on top and some chopped up chives and MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Absolutely 5 stars! These are so easy and so delicious, full of flavor :) The only thing I did differently is omit the chives because I did not have any and added sliced green onions. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe is not as good as twice-baked potatoes and requires more work. The red potatoes are difficult to scoop out without breaking skin. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made these a couple weeks ago and I'm making them again tonight.My whole family loved them even my very picky husband who said at first he didn't want any because he don't care for potatoes.....so of course he changed his mind and I got less...lol...oh well thats love. I followed the directions but didn't measure anything just added to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States