Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
these were so easy and tasty i used butter spray (olivio) on top before they went in the oven. so great as a side dish or appetizer yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Giving this 4 stars because I made some changes. I microwaved potatoes on baked potato setting until tender, then let cool 10 minutes before slicing and scooping. I had no problems with skin tearing this way. After I scooped out the pulp with a melon baller, sprinkled the shells with fine sea salt to add more flavor to the potato. Added chive and onion cream cheese, sour cream, Oscar Mayer Real Bacon Bits, margarine, Lawry's, pepper to the potatoes and then using a cookie scoop, scooped the mixture into the shells. I prepared these the day before the party and put them into a 9x13. Day of the party I will just reheat until warm and maybe garnish with more cheese and either parsley or chives. The sample I had was pretty good, hope the guests like too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yummmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
As suggested below, use a melon baller to scoop it out while raw and then boil it. Worked BEAUTIFULLY! Very easy too. I only gave it 4 stars because I used a lot more seasoning, bacon, and cheese than it called for--but the ingredients that it calls for are perfect. I will only give 5s to the recipes that don't need as much tweaking 2 suggestions: use a bit of milk to make it creamy and use 1/3 fat sour cream (didn't alter the flavor at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I did the recipe exactly and the potatos didn't cook all of the way through. I considered the amount of time and i used small potatos and they were rock solid. I baked for another 20 minutes before i put the filling in and they turned out mildly okay. Will not be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemonusAli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I cooked the potatoes in the microwave and they worked perfectly. The skins didn't fall off at all. I did use regular-sized red potatoes though. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I don't eat meat, so I left out the bacon. I did add a little cream style horseradish. If you want to try this just add a a teaspoon then taste before you add more to be sure you have it to your likeing. I suggest the small red potatos to keep them bite size. I fixed these for a brunch for a women's book club here at my condo. Really yummy. I took the advice of another reviewer and sliced a bit off the bottom of each half before boiling to make them sit flat on the serving plate. They looked great. Everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These were really good! I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and basted the potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper. I microwaved the potatoes and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My youngest son who is very picky asked me to make this dish again. Tasted good to me. I just have to find an easier way to scoop the potatoes out without destroying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These were great side dish to our Christmas dinner. My family loved the presentation and flavor of these. I was not crazy about the texture as the directions instructed so I would suggest cooking the potatoes a little longer. I started with a spoon to scoop the insides but quickly pulled out my mellon baller, it made the job a little easier. I didn't have chives but used green onion (scallions) and they were a welcome substitution. Will definitely make again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSIECOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States