Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for the Super Bowl and they were absolutely wonderful!! Apparently our small red potatoes were larger than Maddiecat's as it only took 10 to make 1 1/2 lbs. I just boiled them for about 16 minutes until firm but tender. I also didn't have chives so I grated in about 1 tsp of onion. The result was outstanding. I do think they are too rich to be used as a side dish as recommended by the first review, but they are a real winner as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
These potatoes are so wonderful. They are great as a main dish potato with steak instead of a baked potato. What a great change. Use different types of cheese for a change of pace. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Although these are basically the same as any "Twice baked potato", they're absolutely adorable and are a perfect little appetizer for any party. Guys love spuds, so give it a try when the "muscles" come walking in. (We gals loved 'em too) Thanks Maddie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Oh, my God!!! This recipe is amazing. My entire family was shocked when I pulled the rounds out of the oven. TY for sharing such a delightful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
YUMMY! I can't see making this without the aid of a melonballer. As long as you don't cook these too long, they come out perfectly and don't rip through the skins. Made this at my holiday party this past weekend and they gobbled them up as soon as I put them out. Great cuz they are bite sized, making them not as filling as regular potato skins. And the red potatos are a better flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
These were fantastic - the hit of the Christmas Day potluck. I used regular-sized red potatoes that I had on hand [rather than the teeny ones], increased to 2c sour cream and 1/2lb. bacon and baked for 20 minutes at 375. I will be making these again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These were delicious and the biggest hit among all the food brought to a recent party. I used pre-cooked bacon bits (the real thing, not a soy product), which was a great time (and clean-up) saver. I found it was easiest to keep the potato half on my work surface while carefully scooping with a melon baller, A few skins did split,but who cares? They made a very appealing presentation and were even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
These are great!! I took them to a church finger food get together and everyone loved them!!! I couldn't find my melon baller so I used a baby spoon to scoop the potatoes out and it worked very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Good! I didn't have chives & it was still a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
These were a big hit at a potluck I attended. Just make them ahead of time and heat up in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States