Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Just ok... not worth the effort. Had to boil potatoes wayyy longer than listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I cooked mine twice and long, and they still needed to be cooked longer. I added cheese to the potato mix, next time I will make them with a little milk and some more seasoning. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My kids liked them but I thought they were rather bland even after increasing the seasoning and spices. They either need more salt, more bacon or more cheese. It takes a lot longer than 10 minutes to cook the potatoes and they are not worth the trouble. There are a lot tastier appetizers recipes out there that take less time and aggravation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The hit of the potluck! As suggested by anther user, I used a whole bag of pre-cooked bacon crumbles. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
These seemed a bit like twice-baked potatoes, although I thought they were a bit dry and boring. I made them as is except the chives were jarred and not fresh. I think it would be easier to bake the potatoes first -- I think baking would help make the scooping easier without skins slipping off. I also think I would've liked them better with the bacon sprinkled on top. But I think they were just a bit of a hassle to re-make them with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
These were a big hit at a potluck I attended. Just make them ahead of time and heat up in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Good! I didn't have chives & it was still a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
These are great!! I took them to a church finger food get together and everyone loved them!!! I couldn't find my melon baller so I used a baby spoon to scoop the potatoes out and it worked very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These were delicious and the biggest hit among all the food brought to a recent party. I used pre-cooked bacon bits (the real thing, not a soy product), which was a great time (and clean-up) saver. I found it was easiest to keep the potato half on my work surface while carefully scooping with a melon baller, A few skins did split,but who cares? They made a very appealing presentation and were even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
These were fantastic - the hit of the Christmas Day potluck. I used regular-sized red potatoes that I had on hand [rather than the teeny ones], increased to 2c sour cream and 1/2lb. bacon and baked for 20 minutes at 375. I will be making these again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States