Red Potato Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
One easy trick I'd like to share for making these is to cut a small slice off the bottom off two ends of the potao before havling them so the round has a little "flat" on the bottom to keep the potato from rolling around. Very good recipe. Great for rounding out party sized "bites" menu. Great for BBQs or a Super Bowl party too. The recipe could use a little more onion flavor in the form of garlic, green onion or a lot more chives. Still pretty tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I make a similar recipe and it says to place potatoes in a small bowl and drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil. You can sprinkle with 1 Tablespoon kosher salt. Toss to coat and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until tender. Remove from oven and let cool 15 minutes. Cut each potato in half lengthwise. Scoop out potatoes with a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon leaving shells intact. Place back on baking sheet and bake 10 more minutes. Let cool and fill with filling. The 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have been making these for years. I've done alot of catering in the past. An easy trick for these potatoes is to cut in half raw. Scoop out the potato. Salt water and boil the skins. Red potatos are very easy to scoop out raw. Cook the scooped out potato as you would mashed potates. and proceed with receipe. saves time and aggrevation of skins breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I have been making these for a long time. I cut the small red bliss potatoes in half and scoop out the center with the small size melon baller while the potato is still raw. Place the potatoes in a steamer basket and steam them in a pot of water til cooked through. Let cool and fill with your cheese mixture and bake when read to serve....the skins do not break if you scoop the potato raw. Also, I use Asiago cheese...good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These are good and not hard at all. Just don't get the real tiny potatoes. The skins tend to be to soft and break. I just made a circle with a spoon and scoped the potato out. I think next time I will sprinkle a little salt on the potato before I put the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These are very time consuming but worth it. My husband loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Next time I will cook the potatoes for at least five minutes longer as my potatoes were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These turned out great! It was a little bit of a pain scooping out the insides, but once I did a few I got the hang of it. I used pre-cooked bacon bits rather than cooking bacon. I boiled the potatos longer than ten minutes, maybe more like 14 minutes, but they still could've gone a bit longer. I made about 20 of them and baked half on new year's eve, and put the rest in the fridge to bake the next day. They came out yummy both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were really good! I recommend microwaving the potatoes and using Oscar Meyer real bacon pieces as it is much, much faster! I also mixed most of the cheddar cheese in with the potato filling and then topped with the remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good, very easy. This recipe will be in my "party rotation" now. I'm not exact with the measurements because I just use what I have on hand, and that is the beauty of it - it lends itself to substitutions. Anyway, the only change that I suggest (just for ease) is that I use the bagged "real bacon pieces" that you find on the salad dressing isle. It just saves time and mess and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States