Red Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
My family raved about this recipe. Just the right blend of spices to compliment the beef. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful roast recipe. This is far better than the average pot roast. Off the charts good! The carrots and potatoes were also great and soaked up lots of flavor from the gravy. I made this in the slow cooker. Added the veggies the last two hours of cooking. I REDUCED the liquids and had far more liquid than I needed when the meat and veggies were done. I also had a little bit of hot Asian chili sauce that was also a sweet sauce so I used that up instead of the sugar and chili powder. Threw in a beef boullion cube, too. Very tender and delicious. I didn't add the flour to thicken the gravy. The leftover meat makes great sandwiches. The leftover carrots are delicious cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This pot roast was juicy and perfect!!! A must!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an awesome recipe. I used a much smaller roast (what was on hand) and only used 1/2 the sauce. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Because of the comments on not enough liquid and sauce, I placed my roast in the pan, covered it in the sauce prepared from the recipe, then covered the pan tightly with foil and baked as directed. I then added the veggies and covered it again with foil to bake for the second half, and I never ran out of the sauce, and had enough left to make the gravy. I followed every other part of the recipe exactly, and this was DELICIOUS! I am making it again and I am also passing it on to my extended family, it's just so good! Even my two pickiest eaters gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
What a nice change of pace. Yummy! DH just loved it. Made a smaller roast and divided the other ingredients, too. I used roasted garlic/sea salt blend. Used dried onions, too. Moist and flavorful! With the lid on it, did not dry out...add water if you need to, this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
OH HEAVENS!This is good. Taking advice of other reviewers I added one cup wine and 1/2 cup water extra and used a big roast. (I had to resist garlic,and onions) Glad I did, it is a fabulous taste that EVERYONE raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
first of all, i cooked the meat by temperature and not time. i think that is key! instead of chuck roast, i used eye of round roast. instead of traditional ketchup i had used ketchup from costa rica, aka a sweeter ketchup with less salt. it was WAY yummy, my hubby made noises while he ate and my picky 2 years old daughter actually ate it all up! definetly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Very good. I covered it as others suggested and it came out very good. My whole family enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this one tonight. The vote was for mashed potatoes and boiled veggies, so I just had the chuck roast and sauce in the oven. I ended up with a TON of sauce! The boys loved it and I am keeping the leftover sauce to marinate some boneless pork ribs later this week. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States