Red Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Because of the comments on not enough liquid and sauce, I placed my roast in the pan, covered it in the sauce prepared from the recipe, then covered the pan tightly with foil and baked as directed. I then added the veggies and covered it again with foil to bake for the second half, and I never ran out of the sauce, and had enough left to make the gravy. I followed every other part of the recipe exactly, and this was DELICIOUS! I am making it again and I am also passing it on to my extended family, it's just so good! Even my two pickiest eaters gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe. It was edible, but not very tasty at all. When I turned the roast after the first hour, I had to add more sauce because it dried up in the pan. I'm sure there may be other people out there who would enjoy this recipe. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them. As a hint, double the sauce and add the second half when adding the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
To make it no fuss spike the roast with garlic. add 1/4 cup of red wine to liquid mix. brown roast. Put in slow cooker,that way you dont have to worry about enough liquid the slow cooker takes care of its self.add vegies and potaoes one hour before done. walla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My experience with this was ok. The problems that I encountered were. There was not enough sauce, the veggies were still raw when I was done cooking and the meat was very tough. What I did to improve this was added some water to the sauce, cooked the veggies additonal time on the stove and put the roast back in the oven for 4 hours on 200. Chuck roast does not come out right unless you cook it until it falls apart. After I did that this was very good, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Very easy to make, meat was very moist and tender. Highly recommend for the family sunday dinner meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I thought this was excellent, much more flavor than a traditional pot roast. I followed the recipe but baked in the crockpot. Tender, Flavorful, Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
first of all, i cooked the meat by temperature and not time. i think that is key! instead of chuck roast, i used eye of round roast. instead of traditional ketchup i had used ketchup from costa rica, aka a sweeter ketchup with less salt. it was WAY yummy, my hubby made noises while he ate and my picky 2 years old daughter actually ate it all up! definetly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
OH HEAVENS!This is good. Taking advice of other reviewers I added one cup wine and 1/2 cup water extra and used a big roast. (I had to resist garlic,and onions) Glad I did, it is a fabulous taste that EVERYONE raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful roast recipe. This is far better than the average pot roast. Off the charts good! The carrots and potatoes were also great and soaked up lots of flavor from the gravy. I made this in the slow cooker. Added the veggies the last two hours of cooking. I REDUCED the liquids and had far more liquid than I needed when the meat and veggies were done. I also had a little bit of hot Asian chili sauce that was also a sweet sauce so I used that up instead of the sugar and chili powder. Threw in a beef boullion cube, too. Very tender and delicious. I didn't add the flour to thicken the gravy. The leftover meat makes great sandwiches. The leftover carrots are delicious cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this one tonight. The vote was for mashed potatoes and boiled veggies, so I just had the chuck roast and sauce in the oven. I ended up with a TON of sauce! The boys loved it and I am keeping the leftover sauce to marinate some boneless pork ribs later this week. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States