Red Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe. It was edible, but not very tasty at all. When I turned the roast after the first hour, I had to add more sauce because it dried up in the pan. I'm sure there may be other people out there who would enjoy this recipe. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them. As a hint, double the sauce and add the second half when adding the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My experience with this was ok. The problems that I encountered were. There was not enough sauce, the veggies were still raw when I was done cooking and the meat was very tough. What I did to improve this was added some water to the sauce, cooked the veggies additonal time on the stove and put the roast back in the oven for 4 hours on 200. Chuck roast does not come out right unless you cook it until it falls apart. After I did that this was very good, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
My family raved about this recipe. Just the right blend of spices to compliment the beef. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was the worst meal I've ever put on my table! I don't recommend using it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Simple to put together for a starter cook like myself. It will of course taste better with a good quality pot roast. You may think it's a bit sweet if you aren't a ketchup lover, but we found it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This pot roast was juicy and perfect!!! A must!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an awesome recipe. I used a much smaller roast (what was on hand) and only used 1/2 the sauce. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Very easy to make, meat was very moist and tender. Highly recommend for the family sunday dinner meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Because of the comments on not enough liquid and sauce, I placed my roast in the pan, covered it in the sauce prepared from the recipe, then covered the pan tightly with foil and baked as directed. I then added the veggies and covered it again with foil to bake for the second half, and I never ran out of the sauce, and had enough left to make the gravy. I followed every other part of the recipe exactly, and this was DELICIOUS! I am making it again and I am also passing it on to my extended family, it's just so good! Even my two pickiest eaters gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
a nice chage from the traditional onion-soup-mix roast. a little on the sweet side. I added a lot more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mansfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States