Red Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful roast recipe. This is far better than the average pot roast. Off the charts good! The carrots and potatoes were also great and soaked up lots of flavor from the gravy. I made this in the slow cooker. Added the veggies the last two hours of cooking. I REDUCED the liquids and had far more liquid than I needed when the meat and veggies were done. I also had a little bit of hot Asian chili sauce that was also a sweet sauce so I used that up instead of the sugar and chili powder. Threw in a beef boullion cube, too. Very tender and delicious. I didn't add the flour to thicken the gravy. The leftover meat makes great sandwiches. The leftover carrots are delicious cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this one tonight. The vote was for mashed potatoes and boiled veggies, so I just had the chuck roast and sauce in the oven. I ended up with a TON of sauce! The boys loved it and I am keeping the leftover sauce to marinate some boneless pork ribs later this week. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I thought this was great! Definitely more flavor than your average pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very good recipe. The only problem is that I used a very poor cut of meat. I loved the gravy and the taste of the meat. I followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers who covered the pan with tin foil. I would definitely make this one again and use a better cut of meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Very good. I covered it as others suggested and it came out very good. My whole family enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
first of all, i cooked the meat by temperature and not time. i think that is key! instead of chuck roast, i used eye of round roast. instead of traditional ketchup i had used ketchup from costa rica, aka a sweeter ketchup with less salt. it was WAY yummy, my hubby made noises while he ate and my picky 2 years old daughter actually ate it all up! definetly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
OH HEAVENS!This is good. Taking advice of other reviewers I added one cup wine and 1/2 cup water extra and used a big roast. (I had to resist garlic,and onions) Glad I did, it is a fabulous taste that EVERYONE raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
What a nice change of pace. Yummy! DH just loved it. Made a smaller roast and divided the other ingredients, too. I used roasted garlic/sea salt blend. Used dried onions, too. Moist and flavorful! With the lid on it, did not dry out...add water if you need to, this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
To make it no fuss spike the roast with garlic. add 1/4 cup of red wine to liquid mix. brown roast. Put in slow cooker,that way you dont have to worry about enough liquid the slow cooker takes care of its self.add vegies and potaoes one hour before done. walla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
a nice chage from the traditional onion-soup-mix roast. a little on the sweet side. I added a lot more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mansfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States