Red Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I'm giving this a 3 because the roast was tender and good but, the sauce and veggies were I'm sorry to say ickie, to me that is, my family enjoyed them. Maybe I'll change up the seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolinamoonwalker
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't like catsup so I used a package of taco seasoning with 2 cups of water and 1/3 cup of dark brown sugar - I added about 5 cloves of fresh chopped garlic also! Will def make this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe was okay. Kinda tasted more like ketchup than anything else. It was definitly edible. But I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelGabel
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We loved this. Very tasty and the sauce was amazing. I covered it lightly with foil while cooking and went for the 4 hours instead of 2. It was more than enough sauce in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelGabel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I thought this was excellent, much more flavor than a traditional pot roast. I followed the recipe but baked in the crockpot. Tender, Flavorful, Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made a couple changes to the sauce (added some minced garlic, a little bit of red wine, and a few drops of worcester sauce), but still cooked as directed. After the two hours of baking in the oven, the vegies were still quite hard but the roast was done. I stuck everything into my slowcooker for another half hour on high, so that the vegies would soften up. I wish I would have just used the slow cooker to begin with, because the meat was very tough and dry. Sauce was quite good though and made for an excellent rue. I doubt I'll make this again though, it wasn't really a hit with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JinxieWinxie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
not pretty,but tastes awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was pretty good pot roast. Mine definitely needed more cooking time, though, even baking covered. After the recipe's cooking times, the meat was still tough and the carrots and potatos not cooked through. I'd say give the meat another hour and another 30 minutes for the veggies, or about 3.5 hours overall. The flavor was "okay", but I don't know that I'd make this one all that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this tonight with a good chuck roast; put the carrots in but baked the potatoes. I kept it covered and had lots of sauce. My son commented that he really liked the sause; it tasted like a sweet BBQ sauce. For me, the sauce was good on the meat but too ketchupy for a gravy. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLANCY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
this was yummy. i added some red wine and garlic to the sauce. than had to add more flour for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States