Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! Note - don't put boiling hot soup in a blender with a plastic lid. It will explode. Ouch. Regardless, the soup was phenomenal and we added a dollop of sour cream and some cilantro upon serving. I also added cayenne pepper and a dash of thyme. I plan on making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for my family a couple weeks ago and again this week and they absolutely loved it!! My parents are vegetarian so I substituted in vegetable broth but it tasted fantastic. It is very hearty and you never lose the red pepper taste. I actually didn't strain it and thought it gave the soup a nice texture. I also added a little ground cumin and some cilantro and one habenero pepper for a little kick! Great recipe...definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divya Desai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountainside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plasticRobot
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Phenomenal! I roasted the peppers, skinned them, then added them to the blender with the sautéed onions and garlic. Add the purée to chicken broth (or chicken bouillon) and then simmer. Definitely add thyme. Serve it with sour cream and a splash of balsamic vinegar (really adds to the flavor)! Went well with asiago bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this for the second time tonight. The first time was DELICIOUS! This time I followed the advice to puree before adding the broth. This is a BAD IDEA. My soup tonight was really lumpy and lacked flavor. Sad. I will continue to make this soup, but will puree last next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup is really good! I followed the recipe as written, but added some cayenne and salt, and sprinkled some cheese in my bowl. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good. Followed recipe except roasted the peppers instead of sauteing them. I'm not a big salt fan but needed to add a little due to blandness. Next time I may increase the garlic instead of added salt. This was a big hit with my husband and 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This soup was very good. Sliced up some nice ripe avocado's to put in the finished bowl it went great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made the soup exactly as written and found it to be very easy and had a nice mild flavor. If I were to make it again I would add just a little spice to take it to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Really delicious soup!!! :) I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, except I did add a little ceyenne pepper as well! :) I might even try not straining it at all next time, as I don't mind the little bit of chew and added texture to my soups!! Thanks for sharing, will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33

Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States