Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I liked the simplicity of this recipe, but after reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes. I changed the butter to a pat of butter, the rest olive oil, I used nine very large, ripe, meaty red peppers, roasted and peeled the peppers (and added one chipotle pepper). I used 24 oz of chicken and 16 oz. veg broth (Kitchen Basics brand) and added salt. Didn't sieve. Great results but I should have added another onion. Also, next time I think I would try adding a large pureed potato instead of the cream. The cream changed the color of the soup from a gorgeous red to a less-than-gorgeous orange. Tip: cook the vegetables, puree them, them put the puree in a kettle and add the broth--why puree hot broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe is much easier if you puree the soup using an immersion blender right in the soup pot, before adding the cream. Also, you can use chopped, frozen onions to save time. Lastly, for a nice flavor, roast the peppers ahead of time in a foil pan or foil-lined roasting pan in a 450 degree oven, turning once or twice until brown and puffy on all sides. Cool, peel, remove stems, and as many seeds as you can. Add to sauteed onions and garlic and proceed with the recipe. Cayenne pepper is great in this, as suggested by others. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Just when I think that I can master easy recipes such as this, something happens that reminds me that I can be such a klutz in the kitchen! When it came time to "puree" the broth/peppers, I poured it into my handy dandy blender that has never failed me when making my morning smoothies and other tasty treats, and like a smart person should, I put my hand over the lid and turned it on and....WHOOSH!!! Almost half the batch exploded all over the kitchen (Keep in mind...this stuff is hot from the stovetop!)!! It was on the walls, all over the countertop and I looked like a red pepper threw up on me! You should have seen the eyes on my family! After ensuring noone was hurt, (cuz that stuff was HOT!!) we all had a great laugh. What WAS left (about two bowls worth) was very good. In fact, the soup was VERY good. It has a tomato soup substance but with a refined and elegant taste. However, next time, I'll find my "safer" hand mixer...as this soup WILL be repeated and I'll leave my blender in the cupboard! Thank you for the recipe submission Judi...and the laugh! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is the best Red Pepper Soup recipe I have ever made and my family loves it. I roasted the peppers first, and then removed the skin. I also added some seasoning salt and because I live with a vegetarian I used a vegetarian "chicken stock". I made it once with a vegetable vegetarian stock but found that the flavor wasn't as rich. For special occasions I usually plate this "restaurant style" using a technique that a chef showed me. I add a small dollop of sour cream or creme fraiche to the middle of each soup bowl. Then I add a drop of balsamic vinegar to the middle of the sour cream and put a small peice of micro green (baby salad piece) beside it. It makes it look super fancy and doesn't alter the taste. Thanks Judi for this amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great soup! My husband and I loved it! Some of the things I did differently from the original recipe were: 1. Broiled the red peppers 2. Added Thyme 3. Used chicken bullion cubes instead of cans of chicken broth (bullion cubes tastes a lot better) 4. Added sea salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! Note - don't put boiling hot soup in a blender with a plastic lid. It will explode. Ouch. Regardless, the soup was phenomenal and we added a dollop of sour cream and some cilantro upon serving. I also added cayenne pepper and a dash of thyme. I plan on making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunSticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was so perfect for stormy fall nights that I made it two days in a row. The second time I roasted the peppers on the grill and removed the skins to improve the soup's texture. The flavors were great roasted or unroasted. A wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Mine turned out a little thin, so I cooked and added a butternut squash. It was so good, I didn't even need to add the cream. An excellent simple recipe perfect for bread dunking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Excellent, superb, fantastic, wonderful. And I don't even LIKE bell peppers! I had a bunch to use up from a friend, and went looking for a soup recipe. This one looked easy and the reviews were good. I doubled it (I had that many peppers), and added the cayenne suggested by other reviewers. Now, I'm a changed woman - red bell peppers are GOOD when they're like this! It was more work than I imagined, with the chopping, sauteeing, simmering, pureeing (with my stick blender), and straining, but man was it worth it. I'm making this one again, and next time I'm making sure company is here to enjoy it - I look like a gourmet chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Absolutely awesome! And so easy! I added a dash of cayenne pepper (not enough to make it hot, just enough to flavor it slightly) and a dollup of sour cream in the middle. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States