Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I loved this soup, following everyone else's recommendations, and switching half of the cream for cream cheese and adding some toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this last month with fresh peppers from the local farmer's market! It was great. I seared some dry pack sea scallops and served them right a top the soup. Great meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My husband and I both liked this soup. I agree with other reviewers that the soup needed more flavor beyond the original recipe, so I added 1/4 tsp cayenne. This definitely added some spice, so next time I might start with 1/8 tsp and then add more to taste. I also added 1/4 tsp dried basil and used an extra clove of garlic. I mixed 1/4 cup water and 1/8 cup flour and whisked into soup to thicken it a bit. Like others, I roasted/boiled the red peppers as suggested, used an immersion blender and did not strain. Soup is good served with a dense bread or grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was the worst recipe I have made from this website so far. The soup didn't really have any flavor to it. I added carrots, tomato, celery and mushrooms to make it a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Followed other reviewers suggestion to roast the peppers before hand. What a flavorful soup with so little ingredients! I substituted half and half for cream....honestly it didn't even need that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
easy and tastes great. Easy on the stomach too if you have trouble eating peppers. I used less cream out of preference and still tastes wonderful. I make this soup all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was great! I did sub fat free half and half. It needed some parmesan cheese on top, though. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
A good basic recipe, but seemed to lack depth of flavor. I did roast the red peppers in the oven as others have suggested; also added some cayenne, freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of allspice and fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. It definitely needed some salt, which I added. As others have suggested, I pureed the roasted red peppers with the sauteed garlic and onion in the blender and then added chicken stock to the puree in the pot. I think this was much better than trying to puree hot liquids in the blender. I also had an issue with the soup having a rather bitter taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is a very nice soup and quite easy to make. I do agree with another review though, there is just a little something missing that would make all the difference, it is so very mild, very smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an awesome soup! I didn't have heavy cream so I used half and half. Also, added a little cornstarch/water to thicken it. I love this soup! Thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States