Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious. I altered the recipe just slightly though. I roasted the peppers and replaced the cream with a small potato and added some red pepper flakes for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! This is identical to a very upscale restaurant in our local area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as written except for substituting light cream for the heavy cream and using my immersion blender instead of transferring it to a blender (always makes me nervous to blend hot soup!). I've made it twice over the past few months. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great simple soup. I've made it twice now with red and yellow peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was good, but it wasn't quite red-peppery enough for me. I think this would be more flavorful with roasted peppers and maybe even water instead of broth (I used veg). Even though the broth adds flavor, to me it masked the red pepper. Nice, easy soup, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I subtitute the heavy cream with ligth sour cream for less calories and a little different taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Leroux

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I am not a fan of bell peppers but a had a bag of baby bells that I had to use up so I made this soup. The only things I did differently was roasting and peeling the skins from the peppers first and olive oil instead of butter. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. This soup was so sweet! I will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This soup was amazing. However, I changed quite a few things. It is just hubby and me, so I used 3 red bell peppers. I roasted the peppers and the garlic, and carmelized the onion. After this step was completed I seeded the red peppers and put them along with the garlic, onion and one chipolte pepper in the blender. Then, I added my blended items to one can of reduced fat cream of jalepeno soup, and one can of vegetable broth. I let it simmer for about an hour and it was amazing! Left out the heavy cream and butter all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love soups like these were you can really taste a single veggie instead of mixing many. I took the advice from other reviewers and roasted the peppers before cooking them. I also added 2 mashed potatoes and left the cream out as to make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirjam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houten, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Quite delicious -- I left the skins on peppers I roasted (that's where the vitamins and fiber are!) and still ended up with a smooth soup after using an immersion blender. Next time I would add some kick by spicing it up with red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States