Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Much like others I roasted the red peppers and added a touch of salt. I also used Soya Silk instead of the heavy cream to make it a little more calorie friendly. The consistency might be a bit runnier but the taste is awesome. Great easy soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a good soup base. I cooked little mini ground beef balls to add to this, because I have a meat loving husband. I decided to use ground beef because of the stuffed peppers concept. I only used salt and pepper in them before browning. I added a pinch of cumin and paprika to taste. Careful with the cumin will take over the flavor before you know it. Next time I will add some cooked potato chunks. Definitely will roast and take the skins off the peppers before making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
So So Delicious - and low-carb/low-cal. We made a double batch and took this in our lunches for a few days. Made the recipe as stated, but sprinkled some cayenne in my portion to add a little kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Easy and Delicious! This soup is a snap if you have an immersion/hand-held blender. I blend the peppers/onions/garlic together before adding the chicken stock, and then again after to make it as smooth as possible. Didn't need to strain. Used a red onion, a bit more heavy cream and added a dash of dill. Served with seasoned croutons. Excellent warm-up soup on a cold winter day! Wished I'd made more though! Really only makes enough for 1 bowl for each of the 5 stated servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tasty! I only had 3 peppers, so I only used about 3/4 onion & tossed in 10-12 grape tomatoes that I needed to use up. I also peeled & diced a potato that I added. I used vegetable broth, omitted the heavy cream, & added a pinch of thyme. I like a bit of chunkiness in my soup, so I didn't strain it once I pureed it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
fantastic soup with rave reviews by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good, simple recipe. My husband and I are trying to shed a few pounds after the holidays, so I used only a pat of butter, and substituted reduced fat buttermilk for the heavy cream (added 3/4 c. instead of just 1/2 c.). We thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Overall, a very tasty bowl of soup. I made a couple of changes, principally to improve the healthy aspects of the soup. I used light butter instead of regular butter, and instead of using the cream, I used half as much half n half and an equal amount of lowfat milk. When tasting, I realized that the soup was rather sweet to taste, so much so that I added salt and pepper, as well as a dash of cayenne to balance out the sweetness. Very good and very healthy with my minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
mmm mmm good. I opted to use a variety of pepper (green, red and orange), which I roasted. I also used bullion cubes instead of broth...the soup is delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I changed this recipe...a lot!... but the end result was great. I started by roasted 6 red peppers instead of 4. Roasting makes the falvours come out and its very quick and easy. I then followed the first steos of the recipes and used a sweet onion. after adding the borth and pureed red pepper I took a taste test and decided not to add any milk or cream and added the salt, pepper and thyme...the thyme is what made the soup amazing!!. I simmered for a very long time and then strained it one more time, this time through a cheesecloth, making sure everything was completely smooth. The little chunks that were caught were blended one more time and added back in. It took a little more time but it made the soup all that much better. Time and Thyme made this recipe a new favourite for me! Thanks for the base! *EDIT: I remade this again today and this time pureed the peppers, onion and garlic after they cooked. This eliminated having to puree/strain again...a big time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States