Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great, but mild pepper flavor. Followed other suggestions and roasted the bell peppers under the broiler first, and then followed the recipe. Also used an immersion blender instead of putting soup into a blender, and after putting through the chinoise had a very silky, smooth soup. Solid recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I added salt, used 2 small/med onions, added a splash of balsamic and used 1/2 roasted red peppers 1/2 non-roasted peppers (for added flavor). Will definitely make this again! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Fabulous!! The only changes I made were: I used roasted red pepper from a jar (all I had on hand) and I added about 2 cups of chicken broth in addition to what was called for. Easy and a must make! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Im not a soup person but live this so much. I have made it a few times with this recipe and its just as delicious if you use regular cream that you would but in your coffee and then a tablespoon or cream cheese for every rep pepper you use. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
NEEDS salt, used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have to admit, I'm new enough to have never heard of red pepper soups, but indeed, the recipe is simple and easy to execute, and completely delicious. The only addition I made were a few chunks of ham, mostly for sweetness and substance. It came out amazingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I've been making this wonderful soup for years and everytime I eat it I feel I'm drinking pure vitamins! I strain the soup after I blend it just to get a nice silky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Outstanding soup, hot or cold. I always roast the peppers and add the skins to the blender for that smokey taste. When I serve it cold, I added a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt in the center of the bowl and then arrange thin strips of cucumber and sweet yellow peppers and diced celery to form a little 'nest', giving it eye appeal and a little crunch. I would omit those toppings when serving hot. Also, rather than the heavy cream, oy, I used regular coffee mate for almost no calories and a great creamy texture, and it was still delicious. I did use the butter, but every little bit helps. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I'm trying to stay away from dairy so I used olive oil instead of butter and didn't add the cream. I'm sure that's delicious but the soup was awesome without it. I also didn't strain it just blended a little longer. Big hit with a family who thinks they don't like peppers, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Much like others I roasted the red peppers and added a touch of salt. I also used Soya Silk instead of the heavy cream to make it a little more calorie friendly. The consistency might be a bit runnier but the taste is awesome. Great easy soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States