Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
very tasty. Roasted peppers first. Added a diced potatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a very easy soup to make, and with some changes it is five-star worthy. Since I'm vegetarian I used veggie broth rather than chicken broth. the only other changes I made was adding 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper (I like things very spicy), and adding 1 tomato. this is a great soup and so easy. Its great with the cream, but I think it would be just as good without (and healthier, of course). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this soup, but I made some changes to make it healthier (and easier). 1) I substituted 1 tablespoon of olive oil for the butter. I used Kangaroo Paw Mountain Pepper olive oil, so it lent a nice spiciness. 2) I used a 19 ounce jar of red peppers instead of the fresh peppers. 3) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. 4) Instead of using heavy cream, I put in a can of drained, rinsed garbanzo beans when I added the broth. 5) I didn't strain or blend the soup. Instead, I used my immersion blender. The final result was that the whole pot of soup only had 690 calories and 21g of fat. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! Note - don't put boiling hot soup in a blender with a plastic lid. It will explode. Ouch. Regardless, the soup was phenomenal and we added a dollop of sour cream and some cilantro upon serving. I also added cayenne pepper and a dash of thyme. I plan on making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for my family a couple weeks ago and again this week and they absolutely loved it!! My parents are vegetarian so I substituted in vegetable broth but it tasted fantastic. It is very hearty and you never lose the red pepper taste. I actually didn't strain it and thought it gave the soup a nice texture. I also added a little ground cumin and some cilantro and one habenero pepper for a little kick! Great recipe...definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divya Desai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountainside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plasticRobot
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Phenomenal! I roasted the peppers, skinned them, then added them to the blender with the sautéed onions and garlic. Add the purée to chicken broth (or chicken bouillon) and then simmer. Definitely add thyme. Serve it with sour cream and a splash of balsamic vinegar (really adds to the flavor)! Went well with asiago bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this for the second time tonight. The first time was DELICIOUS! This time I followed the advice to puree before adding the broth. This is a BAD IDEA. My soup tonight was really lumpy and lacked flavor. Sad. I will continue to make this soup, but will puree last next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup is really good! I followed the recipe as written, but added some cayenne and salt, and sprinkled some cheese in my bowl. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good. Followed recipe except roasted the peppers instead of sauteing them. I'm not a big salt fan but needed to add a little due to blandness. Next time I may increase the garlic instead of added salt. This was a big hit with my husband and 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States