Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I subtitute the heavy cream with ligth sour cream for less calories and a little different taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Leroux

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I am not a fan of bell peppers but a had a bag of baby bells that I had to use up so I made this soup. The only things I did differently was roasting and peeling the skins from the peppers first and olive oil instead of butter. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. This soup was so sweet! I will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This soup was amazing. However, I changed quite a few things. It is just hubby and me, so I used 3 red bell peppers. I roasted the peppers and the garlic, and carmelized the onion. After this step was completed I seeded the red peppers and put them along with the garlic, onion and one chipolte pepper in the blender. Then, I added my blended items to one can of reduced fat cream of jalepeno soup, and one can of vegetable broth. I let it simmer for about an hour and it was amazing! Left out the heavy cream and butter all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love soups like these were you can really taste a single veggie instead of mixing many. I took the advice from other reviewers and roasted the peppers before cooking them. I also added 2 mashed potatoes and left the cream out as to make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirjam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houten, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Quite delicious -- I left the skins on peppers I roasted (that's where the vitamins and fiber are!) and still ended up with a smooth soup after using an immersion blender. Next time I would add some kick by spicing it up with red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
very tasty. Roasted peppers first. Added a diced potatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a very easy soup to make, and with some changes it is five-star worthy. Since I'm vegetarian I used veggie broth rather than chicken broth. the only other changes I made was adding 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper (I like things very spicy), and adding 1 tomato. this is a great soup and so easy. Its great with the cream, but I think it would be just as good without (and healthier, of course). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this soup, but I made some changes to make it healthier (and easier). 1) I substituted 1 tablespoon of olive oil for the butter. I used Kangaroo Paw Mountain Pepper olive oil, so it lent a nice spiciness. 2) I used a 19 ounce jar of red peppers instead of the fresh peppers. 3) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. 4) Instead of using heavy cream, I put in a can of drained, rinsed garbanzo beans when I added the broth. 5) I didn't strain or blend the soup. Instead, I used my immersion blender. The final result was that the whole pot of soup only had 690 calories and 21g of fat. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! Note - don't put boiling hot soup in a blender with a plastic lid. It will explode. Ouch. Regardless, the soup was phenomenal and we added a dollop of sour cream and some cilantro upon serving. I also added cayenne pepper and a dash of thyme. I plan on making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunSticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for my family a couple weeks ago and again this week and they absolutely loved it!! My parents are vegetarian so I substituted in vegetable broth but it tasted fantastic. It is very hearty and you never lose the red pepper taste. I actually didn't strain it and thought it gave the soup a nice texture. I also added a little ground cumin and some cilantro and one habenero pepper for a little kick! Great recipe...definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divya Desai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountainside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States