Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
fantastic soup with rave reviews by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good, simple recipe. My husband and I are trying to shed a few pounds after the holidays, so I used only a pat of butter, and substituted reduced fat buttermilk for the heavy cream (added 3/4 c. instead of just 1/2 c.). We thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Overall, a very tasty bowl of soup. I made a couple of changes, principally to improve the healthy aspects of the soup. I used light butter instead of regular butter, and instead of using the cream, I used half as much half n half and an equal amount of lowfat milk. When tasting, I realized that the soup was rather sweet to taste, so much so that I added salt and pepper, as well as a dash of cayenne to balance out the sweetness. Very good and very healthy with my minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
mmm mmm good. I opted to use a variety of pepper (green, red and orange), which I roasted. I also used bullion cubes instead of broth...the soup is delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I changed this recipe...a lot!... but the end result was great. I started by roasted 6 red peppers instead of 4. Roasting makes the falvours come out and its very quick and easy. I then followed the first steos of the recipes and used a sweet onion. after adding the borth and pureed red pepper I took a taste test and decided not to add any milk or cream and added the salt, pepper and thyme...the thyme is what made the soup amazing!!. I simmered for a very long time and then strained it one more time, this time through a cheesecloth, making sure everything was completely smooth. The little chunks that were caught were blended one more time and added back in. It took a little more time but it made the soup all that much better. Time and Thyme made this recipe a new favourite for me! Thanks for the base! *EDIT: I remade this again today and this time pureed the peppers, onion and garlic after they cooked. This eliminated having to puree/strain again...a big time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
What a delicious soup! I made it exactly as the recipe says and I wouldn't change a thing! :) But I didn't get 4 servings....it was more like 3. So next time, I will double it for leftovers! And try it with cornbread...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
this was awesome. I followed others with roasting the peppers. I also, used my food processor and magic bullet to blend the items together. I didn't have a hand held one. I will be making this again. Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
sooo yummy! I followed the recipe to the T...until I got to the cream...I boiled 4 small red potatoes with the peppers, onions and garlic and then creamed it all together in my blend tec... Amazing. I did add 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp sage. I broiled the peppers until tender. Such a delightful taste. i will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe! You can also use roasted red peppers in the jar. I did this using one jar and cut the other ingredients in half. If you were making a full recipe, I would use at least 2 jars of roasted red peppers. The flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Worth the effort! I've searched, read reviews and chose this recipe...my family raved over it! Even my picky kids ate it! I used 6 roasted peppers and I roasted the garlic. I added 1/4 tsp tyme, 1/2 tsp basil, 1 tbsp cilantro & 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. This will be a fall comfort food staple in our house! Time consuming, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States