Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Outstanding soup, hot or cold. I always roast the peppers and add the skins to the blender for that smokey taste. When I serve it cold, I added a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt in the center of the bowl and then arrange thin strips of cucumber and sweet yellow peppers and diced celery to form a little 'nest', giving it eye appeal and a little crunch. I would omit those toppings when serving hot. Also, rather than the heavy cream, oy, I used regular coffee mate for almost no calories and a great creamy texture, and it was still delicious. I did use the butter, but every little bit helps. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I'm trying to stay away from dairy so I used olive oil instead of butter and didn't add the cream. I'm sure that's delicious but the soup was awesome without it. I also didn't strain it just blended a little longer. Big hit with a family who thinks they don't like peppers, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Much like others I roasted the red peppers and added a touch of salt. I also used Soya Silk instead of the heavy cream to make it a little more calorie friendly. The consistency might be a bit runnier but the taste is awesome. Great easy soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a good soup base. I cooked little mini ground beef balls to add to this, because I have a meat loving husband. I decided to use ground beef because of the stuffed peppers concept. I only used salt and pepper in them before browning. I added a pinch of cumin and paprika to taste. Careful with the cumin will take over the flavor before you know it. Next time I will add some cooked potato chunks. Definitely will roast and take the skins off the peppers before making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
So So Delicious - and low-carb/low-cal. We made a double batch and took this in our lunches for a few days. Made the recipe as stated, but sprinkled some cayenne in my portion to add a little kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Easy and Delicious! This soup is a snap if you have an immersion/hand-held blender. I blend the peppers/onions/garlic together before adding the chicken stock, and then again after to make it as smooth as possible. Didn't need to strain. Used a red onion, a bit more heavy cream and added a dash of dill. Served with seasoned croutons. Excellent warm-up soup on a cold winter day! Wished I'd made more though! Really only makes enough for 1 bowl for each of the 5 stated servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tasty! I only had 3 peppers, so I only used about 3/4 onion & tossed in 10-12 grape tomatoes that I needed to use up. I also peeled & diced a potato that I added. I used vegetable broth, omitted the heavy cream, & added a pinch of thyme. I like a bit of chunkiness in my soup, so I didn't strain it once I pureed it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
fantastic soup with rave reviews by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good, simple recipe. My husband and I are trying to shed a few pounds after the holidays, so I used only a pat of butter, and substituted reduced fat buttermilk for the heavy cream (added 3/4 c. instead of just 1/2 c.). We thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Overall, a very tasty bowl of soup. I made a couple of changes, principally to improve the healthy aspects of the soup. I used light butter instead of regular butter, and instead of using the cream, I used half as much half n half and an equal amount of lowfat milk. When tasting, I realized that the soup was rather sweet to taste, so much so that I added salt and pepper, as well as a dash of cayenne to balance out the sweetness. Very good and very healthy with my minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States