Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Awesome, easy to make soup. I roasted my red peppers for a little over an hour beforehand. I sauteed the onions and garlic and slightly burnt them, added the red peppers, and then chicken broth. I pureed it in my blender and heated it back up and added milk and voila! Delicious. No need for extra spices or anything. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious! Versatile! Impressive! Beautiful! I did change it a bit based on other reviews and my personal preferences, making it a bit simpler...I baked the peppers in the oven until the skins were black, let them cool, peeled the skins. Threw them in a pot with the broth, seasonings, simmered for 30 minutes. Let cool, whisked in blender. Returned to pot, added cream. I wanted a very simple, fresh taste, so I used garlic and onion powders. I also added a touch of ground CORIANDER and honey. This was divine and will definitely be served at my next summer party! The versatile part was the remainder of the soup, which I altered for husband-I added cooked ground apple sausage, sauteed with diced onions- equally wonderful! We had it with sourdough bread-woooooow! He loved it, which is a surprise b/c he is not a big fan of red peppers. This is not the quickest "slap something together" recipe, but if you're in the mood to make something rewarding, healthy, delicious and lovely, this is it. This is a soup that will stay in my recipe box ALWAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
THANK YOU for the excellent recipe. I added Cayenne and roasted the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
4 out of 5 people in my family, including the 5 year old, LOVED it! I used two red, one yellow and 3/4 of an orange bell pepper. I added a handful of chopped carrots and about a 1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms. To boost the heart-healthy factor, I added 3 TBSP of ground flax and substituted the heavy cream with 1/4 cup each of plain fat free yogurt and fat free half-n-half (let come to room temp before adding to soup). I also used a hand-held immersion blender to produce a silky smooth soup. I'll absolutely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Just did not like this one. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I liked the simplicity of this recipe, but after reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes. I changed the butter to a pat of butter, the rest olive oil, I used nine very large, ripe, meaty red peppers, roasted and peeled the peppers (and added one chipotle pepper). I used 24 oz of chicken and 16 oz. veg broth (Kitchen Basics brand) and added salt. Didn't sieve. Great results but I should have added another onion. Also, next time I think I would try adding a large pureed potato instead of the cream. The cream changed the color of the soup from a gorgeous red to a less-than-gorgeous orange. Tip: cook the vegetables, puree them, them put the puree in a kettle and add the broth--why puree hot broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Made this tonight for the first time. It is FABULOUS! Glad I read the reviews first. I used red, orange and yellow peppers and I didn't strain it after blending. I will definitely make this again as a first course for company dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Pretty goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Tasty but time consuming! Changes: * left garlic cloves whole * sauteed onions and garlic in olive oil in stead of butter while i broiled then peeled bell peppers * 6 colorful bell peppers, cut into strips * one chicken bullion cube dissolved in 2 cups hot water It tasted really good before i added nonfat dry milk, black pepper, and a dab of sour cream. Don't bother with the spices or dairy-- it's delicious plain! And I'm the kind of person who likes spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Very bland soup to me. I don't think it had enough red pepper flavor. I'm willing to try this recipe again but I will double the amount of peppers. I did do it a little different than recipe though. I actually roasted the peppers first and at the end of the dish I added crab. Only after adding another pepper (I had one extra on hand), SALT, cayenne pepper, rosemary and more black pepper did I think it was ok. I only wish I had more bell peppers. I gave this four stars because it has potential, but as is it only merits two or three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States