Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Fantastic recipe - the whole family loved it and my mom was flabbergasted! I cooked the pepper for 20 minutes (until really soft) and only simmered them for about 5 minutes in the broth. Then I pureed the soup, mixed in milk instead of cream, and served this with yummy homemade bread. This made a very, very fast lunch & I'll definitely use this recipe over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This tasted good. I wasn't quite sure if i loved it, or if i was grossed out by it, but i think i liked it. Pretty much tasted like Red Pepper Soup. I would make it again, but only as a side dish to a meal, not as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Wonderful and easy. I don't bother to strain it, I use half and half rather than cream, and I throw in some crushed red pepper for a little zip. Fail safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is the best Red Pepper Soup recipe I have ever made and my family loves it. I roasted the peppers first, and then removed the skin. I also added some seasoning salt and because I live with a vegetarian I used a vegetarian "chicken stock". I made it once with a vegetable vegetarian stock but found that the flavor wasn't as rich. For special occasions I usually plate this "restaurant style" using a technique that a chef showed me. I add a small dollop of sour cream or creme fraiche to the middle of each soup bowl. Then I add a drop of balsamic vinegar to the middle of the sour cream and put a small peice of micro green (baby salad piece) beside it. It makes it look super fancy and doesn't alter the taste. Thanks Judi for this amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I have several red pepper soup recipes, although I have not tried this one. I have one suggestion. Puree the peppers and tomatoes with about 2 cups of broth before cooking. Then, add the remainder of the broth and cook. I like to add a little Old Bay seasoning and taste as I go. I'd also skip the cream and add a 1/2 teaspoon of coffee creamer to each bowl. Stir and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
everybody in my family loved this soup! I did it almost exactly like the recipe said, the only thing being that I substituted basil for the bay leaf and added alot more cayenne pepper than called for. I also meated it up with some grilled chicken chunks, but I don't think I'll do that again - the soup alone is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I found this recipe when trying to find something new to use up ALL my peppers from my CSA box. This is a keeper! My husband and I both loved it. The only thing I added was a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Fantastic - just 1 tip and 1 suggestion: roast red peppers whole on a foil wrapped pan for 40 min at 450 degrees - till skin is blackened, then, put them in thick ziplock bags for 15 min or so and the skin will fall right off. I did not need to strain the soup by removing the skin and it added a lot of flavor and thickness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Simple, tasty and inexpensive. Great soup! I highly recommend following other reviewer's suggestions of : pureeing with an immersion blender (no straining) and also, to add just a touch of cayenne if you like a bit of kick. Fantastic soup..Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was really good. I would definitly recommend using an immersion blender, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erycca Manninen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States