Red Onion and Goat Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This was a very simple recipe to follow. I added some garlic, and dried sage the second time i made it for a bit of added flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I made this for a BBq and everyone loved it. It was really very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Not for kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Whole onions make it really had to cook thoroughly. Now my girlfriend boggles her eyes wherever onions are mentioned. Don't bother with this, unless you really love raw onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This tasted absolutely wonderful! I substituted extra mature white cheddar because I didn't have any goat cheese, which no doubt gave it a different flavour, but still really good. Next time I'll try it with some really goat-y goat cheese - mmm, I'm looking forward to impressing guests with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The only changes I made were to saute the chopped onion in olive oil. I wish, however, I had made my own pie crust - I really did not like the sweetness of the pastry with the salty goat cheese (I would actually give the recipe 3.5 stars because of this). If I were to make this again, I would add a little extra-sharp Cheddar to the cream and egg yolks. This is a good basic recipe that can easily be tweaked to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
It wasn't very popular at all but largely it was my fault. I made my own pastry and it turned out a bit too oily and soft and the goat cheese I used wasn't the best. But the recipe sounds fantastic and can definitely be made into a 5 star one, to taste like these little tarts Marks and Spenser sell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a hit at my mom's birthday party! I made 2, and used 5 large onions, so I don't think it needs as many as indicated. (I also sauteed them with garlic, salt and pepper--sliced) I also added garlic and herbs to the egg/cream mixture. I made one of them with the goat cheese, and the other with Havarti cheese, and they both turned out amazing. So, if you don't care for the goat cheese, try the Havarti--it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Huge hit at my husband's birthday bash. I made tartlets using the pie crust and mini cupcake tins. It was great for individual serving sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My husband and I are split on this recipe. I love it but he thiks it tastes way too much like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States