Red Onion and Goat Cheese Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very tasty with my modifications! See notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I'm vegetarian, but my fiance eats meat, and it's hard to make a single meal item that we both really enjoy. I really love this tart, even though I made a lot of revisions--many that other members suggested and a few of my own. This recipe as is wouldn't quite work. I only needed 2 onions, and even cutting them into 8th's wasn't small enough to get them to really caramelize in 15 minutes. I would follow another member's suggestion to slice them thinly--it makes it easier to caramelize and also to eat. I used more than the listed amount goat cheese and it was great... and I also added some cheddar (suggested by another member) but I probably only use goat cheese next time. I also threw in some thyme, oregano, and Spike seasoning, as well as a generous amount of salt and pepper. I also cooked it for about 35 minutes and then let it sit and cool before serving. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This tart was pretty good, but not amazing. I found my pie crust to be full with 2 large red onions, sliced thinly. Adding a healthy dose of freshly ground pepper on top after cooking makes it quite good. I also added a touch of sharp cheddar to the top prior to baking. I suspect mine would have been better had I bought the better goat cheese (not the bargain kind!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this yesterday for a potluck dinner and even though the end result was very good, the most I could get into one pie shell (pre-made from freezer section, docked and blind baked at 350 for 10 min.) was two onions instead of five; is this maybe a typo? I also agree with the previous reviewer in that the onions should have been cut much thinner than just the quartering. I followed the roasting instructions and the onions did not caramelize even though mine were in for about 25 minutes. They did get sweeter from roasting so not having the caramelizing wasn't a big deal to me. Because I ended up with so much onion I doubled the custard portion for a second pie shell I had, and the custard doubles well with good results. The cooking time ended up longer than expected because of doing both pies at the same time. If you are doing just one pie, I would think the cooking time would be sufficient, but I was a bit flustered by this time, and ended up turning down my oven to 250 and left both pies in for an hour to finish cooking through. I used an herbed pre-crumbled goat cheese and that worked very well, got a very pretty golden brown on top like a toasted marshmallow. My final rating on this recipe is 3.5 stars. Good results, but the recipe itself will be tweaked a bit when I make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Leaving the onion in quarters didn't make any sense to me. I chopped it up before roasting, and roasted it for 30 min to caramelize well. I used heavy cream instead of heavy whipping cream (it's all i had) and it worked fine. Added thyme, sage, rosemary, and a little grated cheddar to the custard. I used to recipe "Easy to remember pie crust" from this website. I didn't measure the goat cheese, but i probably doubled it to be nice and cheesy. I would give 5 stars if it weren't for the instruction to leave the onion quartered. That just seems difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My husband and I are split on this recipe. I love it but he thiks it tastes way too much like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Huge hit at my husband's birthday bash. I made tartlets using the pie crust and mini cupcake tins. It was great for individual serving sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a hit at my mom's birthday party! I made 2, and used 5 large onions, so I don't think it needs as many as indicated. (I also sauteed them with garlic, salt and pepper--sliced) I also added garlic and herbs to the egg/cream mixture. I made one of them with the goat cheese, and the other with Havarti cheese, and they both turned out amazing. So, if you don't care for the goat cheese, try the Havarti--it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
It wasn't very popular at all but largely it was my fault. I made my own pastry and it turned out a bit too oily and soft and the goat cheese I used wasn't the best. But the recipe sounds fantastic and can definitely be made into a 5 star one, to taste like these little tarts Marks and Spenser sell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The only changes I made were to saute the chopped onion in olive oil. I wish, however, I had made my own pie crust - I really did not like the sweetness of the pastry with the salty goat cheese (I would actually give the recipe 3.5 stars because of this). If I were to make this again, I would add a little extra-sharp Cheddar to the cream and egg yolks. This is a good basic recipe that can easily be tweaked to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States