Red Lentil and Yellow Split Pea Soup Made with a Pressure Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I just made it and although it was easy and delicious mine also scorched. Any ideas why? I followed the instructions carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tried it with my pressure cooker and it was delicious. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry and a couple handfuls of frozen kale. We ate it over some brown rice and even my 6 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I really liked this soup. I make a big slow cooker pot of soup every Sunday to last the hubby and I through the week for lunches. This recipe was by far the quickest though surprisingly yummy! I am trying again tonight though may spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very easy and great flavor. I made a triple batch on the stovetop in less than an hour. I used vegetable broth to make it VEGAN with fresh onions, one red and one yellow. I didn't have fresh carrots or garlic but a couple cans of diced carrots in water worked fine with garlic powder. Would be better with fresh but this recipe is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENTJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I still have to work on my pressure cooker technique, but the flavor is excellent! I think I left if on medium too long and maybe didn't lower the temperature enough. It did get a bit scorched on the bottom. Those problems are clearly user error and nothing to do with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Not having a pressure cooker, I just made the soup and added ham. Wow! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very good soup. I added ham and the broth which I pressure cooked first and pulled the meat off. I also added celery, a potato, and garlic in a jar already cleaned and chopped from Costco (3T). Since I didn't have enough ham broth, I supplemented it with low sodium chicken broth. I added the carrots (shredded) later as a last step for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very yummy and super easy. Will make it again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The only difference between this and one I make is like one other suggested is vegetable broth, and I also add a sweet potato to make it a little heartier. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I try it this way next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States