Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is DELICIOUS! I followed other reviewers suggestions which made all the difference: don't substitute the curry paste, simmer the spices in the oil for 10 minutes first, then add the vegetables. After brining the lentil to a boil, only cook for 8 minutes- then when you combine them with the spices and vegetables, let it simmer 15-20 more minutes and it won't be mushy. This dish is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Awsome recipe, very tasteful. I didn't have red lentils on hands so I used green lentils and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My Grandchildren love this recipe. I use a can of diced tomatoes instead of tomatoe paste. This recipe doubles and triples very well. Served at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow! I'm always on the hunt for easy tasty curry lunches to take to work. This fits the bill! I pre cooked my lentils last night and kept them in the fridge. Today I did TWO onions (they were kind of small) and used green curry paste (that is all I had) and the rest of the recipe I followed to a T. Well, I did not have canned puree tomatoes, just regular diced tomatoes. I prepared this all in a 3" deep electric skillet. Then added the cold lentils to reheat at the end. I was going to add cilantro too, but forgot it while shopping. Excellent dish - I will try butter at the end as someone suggested. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing flavour base. I will use this spice mixture to dress other foods. I made a home made curry paste by combining 1 1/2 tbsp curry powder 1/2 tbsp garam masala powder and water make the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Delicious! I didn't add any sugar, and instead increased all the spices to a tablespoon rather than a teaspoon. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Super duper good! Love the spices. I used coconut oil to caramelise the oignons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Liked it very much. Definitely felt it needed some salt support, but apart from that, it was deliciously flavorful, and not terribly tough to make. I went prep to table in less than an hour (and that includes the 20 minutes at the end that I scrambled to make some jasmine rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Quick, easy, nutritious and cheap. Everything a busy working, hockey momma needs. I did not have fresh ginger so I had to sub about 1/4 tsp ground, otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Excellent! Made my whole kitchen smell like an Indian restaurant and the recipe was as good as you'd get in a restaurant, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States