Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Lesson learned: Caramelize the onion and only use 1/2-3/4c. of onion. I only had one large red onion and it was too much. I didn't cook the onions long enough for them to caramelize although they were done when i mixed in the spices...still not cooking them long enough probably affected the outcome. I couldn't get rid of a slighty bitter, strong taste which I attribute to the excess onion. I will try this recipe again and re-rate. Thanks everyone for sharing what worked or didn't work for you. Next time I'll read more of the rev iews before I start cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made it as directed and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very tasty....loved it first lentil dish I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnietink

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Keeper! Perfect for bulk convenient cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was excellent. I served it with naan and had it for lunch the rest of the week. My lentils cooked very fast so next time I will wait to start them until the curry is almost ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Not bad, I too had to cook the lentils longer than 15 minutes. Good taste, too bland for my curry taste. I added tofu and spinach for more nutrition and vegetables. I would give 3 1/2 if able.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Lecates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious and so fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was my first spin at Indian food. It gets high marks for adaptability. My kids loved it a version I made with less spices. If you don't have naan, serve it with a crusty french bread and really, really good butter at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe! I have made it multiple times. It has an excellent curry flavor and I love the red lentils in it. I plan to make it for a family gathering for soy free, gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The tomato puree made it pretty acidic and bitter. Added half a can of coconut milk and a bit more salt and sugar. I didn't have chili powder so I used a tiny bit of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. All that helped balance it out a bit but it was still a bit too tart. Perhaps maybe half a can of puree next time? And yes lentils do cook very quickly - I had to scrub the first batch and start again (and pay closer attention this time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States