Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent as-is with a mild curry paste for those with more sensitive palates. However, it is also very easy to customize with spicier curry paste and more of the spices. I make this almost weekly and it is never the same twice! I usually start with the base recipe +1 tbs of curry powder, and I add the other spices as my taste buds see fit that night! I find it easier to make the recipe to-taste if you mix the spices with the tomato puree instead of with the onions at first. I let my sauce simmer for at least 10-15 minutes for the best flavors. I also like my curries a little "sloppy" so I don't drain much water off of the lentils. I serve over jasmine rice and with naan. Thank you for providing a great, easy, go-to recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyssaRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not great. Not enough texture--came out kind of mushy. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Didn't have any curry paste handy ...but this recipe was excellent even without the curry paste! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
We really liked this. I added some cream to make it more appealing to my kids, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone ate happily and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
very spicy with only 1 tea of curry paste~cant imagine 2 Tbs. and i like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Came out perfect! Robust flavor. Only thing I would change is the amount of lentils called for in the ingredients list. 2 cups dry yielded way too much for the recipe. I would cut it down to 3/4- 1 cup dry, unless you triple all other ingredients. Other than that... Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClydesBonnie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was my first attempt at any type of curry dish. I found a recipe for curry powder and started by making my own curry powder first. With my curry powder in hand, I followed the published recipe almost exactly. I took another readers advice and cut the salt in 1/2 and used tomato paste. I cooked the lentils till they were "al dente" and avoided the "mush" other complained of. I was also gentle when folding the lentils into the curry base so as not to damage the lentils. I did not find the recipe too hot. I got more of a sweet taste initially followed by a little heat. I think this might be an unusual side to bring to barbecue in place of baked beans. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent! Served with basmati and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe read. Absolutely great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okanogan, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States