Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
very spicy with only 1 tea of curry paste~cant imagine 2 Tbs. and i like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Came out perfect! Robust flavor. Only thing I would change is the amount of lentils called for in the ingredients list. 2 cups dry yielded way too much for the recipe. I would cut it down to 3/4- 1 cup dry, unless you triple all other ingredients. Other than that... Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClydesBonnie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was my first attempt at any type of curry dish. I found a recipe for curry powder and started by making my own curry powder first. With my curry powder in hand, I followed the published recipe almost exactly. I took another readers advice and cut the salt in 1/2 and used tomato paste. I cooked the lentils till they were "al dente" and avoided the "mush" other complained of. I was also gentle when folding the lentils into the curry base so as not to damage the lentils. I did not find the recipe too hot. I got more of a sweet taste initially followed by a little heat. I think this might be an unusual side to bring to barbecue in place of baked beans. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent! Served with basmati and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe read. Absolutely great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okanogan, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
great recipe. Start caramelizing the onions first as it takes the longest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious! My partner loved it! I doubled the recipe as I like having extra curry to dip naan in - added a couple of extra tsp of garlic and ginger. Also, added a bit of extra sugar to balance out the flavours (just a dash). Used a 15 oz can of rinsed chick peas instead of lentils and roasted some cauliflower in the oven with a bit of olive oil for 25 mins at 400. Served with a sprinkle of fresh coriander. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is one of the most healthy, tasteful and satisfying one-dish meals my family has enjoyed. I have made it at least 3-4 times in the last 6 months and like the introduction indicates, this meal is really not that difficult to make but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I added a small amount of whole milk to lighten the floral tastes. First time making curry is a success thanks to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States