Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I like this but it's not my favourite red lentil curry. It is not specific enough on the ingredients. I used green curry paste (all I had) and I am sure it would have been better with red. The recipe also states Tomato puree - for me that meant tomato paste but when i looked at the amount needed - 14.25oz - I realized they must mean tomato sauce. I had to add some water to the curry mixture. It still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have made this several times, and it always comes out wonderfully. I prefer more sauce and a little more substance, so I usually add a block of frozen chopped spinach to the sauce, then a can of tomato paste. The spinach thaws and adds water to the sauce as well. After that I add water if it needs to be thinned out. I usually add a bit more of each of the spices as well, to compensate for the increased amount of sauce and vegetables. I then serve it over Basmati or Jasmine rice. I have received many compliments and requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this with a Balti curry paste and it was absolutely delicious. Love that it's vegan. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Yum! I'd never made lentils before, but I am experimenting with different grains and legumes. This was delicious! But a question for those of you who have made this...what kind of curry paste did you use? I had some Penang Curry Paste, so I used that along with the more traditional Indian curry powder. But is there something else I should have used instead? I thought the Penang Curry Paste added some nice heat and flavor, but am curious if there is something that would have been even better. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this curry. It helps that I use a stellar, potent real Indian curry paste, but this recipe is amazing. I always add lots of veggies -- carrots, potatoes, peppers, and/or beans -- and not so many spices (my pastes is loaded). If it needs thickening I'll add a spoonful or two of cream cheese. YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is sooo good. I'm addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. I have played with it from time to time to make new creations. Today I used the recipe to stuff cabbage leaves to make "cabbage rolls" and in the past I have used tomato sauce in lieu of paste to make lasagna rolls. Delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is a sweet and savory dish. I wouldn't change a thing, except I wish I were better at making caramelized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
good enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Very simple and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States