Red Kidney Beans (Rajma) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is by far one of my FAVORITE recipes..it is amazing! I tripled the recipe and served it with chicken tika masala and rice with cumin and yellow curry powder. An easy sub for Nan is flour tortillas grilled with garlic salt and spices.. I have eaten it for days! I substituted canned organic romas drained and saved the juice to add later as the sauce..only had ground cardamon so i guessed at it like most of my recipes..Great vegetarian dish. Even better after it sits for a few days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was soo good. Full of flavour and really affordable, I made it with the things I already had in my kitchen. I used half the amount of tomato and onion it called for and added some chopped up carrot. Great dish, quick and nutrient packed. My boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a great side to my Indian meat dish I was serving. I love all the spices, but I didn't quite follow the amount of onion and tomatoes. I used 1/2 a large onion and 4 plum tomatoes. The spices weren't too strong with this amount so I think that if I used the amount in the recipe I would add to the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is like an Indian spiced chili. It was interesting and unusual. Better the next day! Otherwise, the beans don't really have time to absorb much of the flavor. This is a very spicy hot dish, so 1 t of cayenne might be too much. I used about 1/2 t and it was really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Hi! thanks for the basic instructions, the recipe turned out swell. Just some minor changes to keep in mind: - add the ginger and garlic after the onions have browned, with 2 slit green chillies - I added a little garam masala along with chilli powder - I added just a cup of water (warmed up in the micro) Topped up with lots of fresh cilantro. Tasted great with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Absolutely awesome. Ever since the first time I've made it, it's become a household staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Decent at first; the leftovers were better/good. There were too few kidney beans compared to other stuff in the recipe -- it doesn't look anything like rajmah I've had in restaurants. Once I understood that the dish was not what I think of as rajmah, I appreciated it. I think the recipe was underspiced: I needed to add more spices at the end, probably ending up doubling the amount of spices. (Incidentally, the spices I added at the end were in ground form). On the other hand, judging by how much my apartment smelled of spices the next few days, perhaps my complaint about the lack of spicing could simply be from getting used to them from standing by the stove for too long. Also, the taste ended up oddly interestingly sweet. The cilantro garnish didn't do much. The timing of the recipe is surprising. The recipe says to "saute until almost dry." Maybe my tomatoes were unusually juicy, but that took me 45 minutes of simmering. Later the recipe suggested adding water if necessary. I didn't bother. Also, the onions took ten minutes to become translucent. By the way, it takes a few inches of ginger root to make two tablespoons of minced ginger. Incidentally, I used a non-stick skillet and so only used one tablespoon of oil. Also, I skipped the optional powdered pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
All I can say is, Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAAA87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is my I can't be bothered cooking standby. There's something about it that just makes me want to gobble the whole lot. Just make sure you remove all the cloves before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Yummy, yummy mix of spices. I didn't have the whole spices except the peppercorns, and I just added the ground spices. My kids liked it, too. I served it with plain rice and yogurt to help cut the spiciness for our more sensitive palettes. A wonderfully different way to eat beans, which we are always trying to add to our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States