Red Kidney Beans (Rajma) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Delicious and easy! Be careful when doubling (or tripling) the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Don't know how the kiddies would like it, but I feel it is a wonderful recipe. 25 minutes and it's on the table, plus it tastes absolutely wonderful. Spiced perfectly, and it didn't need any extra help (aside from the garam masala!). I used canned plum tomatoes and the tomato juice to beef it up a bit, but I'm sure water would be fine. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll make it many times for those nights when I'm in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
We had this on rice, and it was wonderful and surprising! I wasn't sure about all of the ingredients, and find that a lot of veggie recipes sorely lack for meat, but this curry tasted really fresh and satisfying. I will definitely make this again, especially for those friends who think that a meal isn't complete without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
A bit labor intensive for a side dish, but it is *wonderful*. I give it the highest rating. Goes very well with any Dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
this is great for restricted diets, eat with the cumin rice and it is great. I freeze it with the rice and then take it to work the next day. It keeps very well, the flavours just get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Just finished eating this wonderful dish! Followed the recipe exactly & loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Loved it! Served with Chicken with Indian Spices (Low-carb. Cardamom was not listed in ingredients. Good without. Didn't have red kidney beans so used cannellini beans successfully. Yum. can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judije5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Very delicious, and satisfying. I served it with rice and kabobs and my husband was thrilled. Definitely going to be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Yummy, yummy mix of spices. I didn't have the whole spices except the peppercorns, and I just added the ground spices. My kids liked it, too. I served it with plain rice and yogurt to help cut the spiciness for our more sensitive palettes. A wonderfully different way to eat beans, which we are always trying to add to our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is my I can't be bothered cooking standby. There's something about it that just makes me want to gobble the whole lot. Just make sure you remove all the cloves before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States