Red Kidney Beans (Rajma) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good use of spice but I ended up adding more salt. I pureed the tomatos and onions. I hate to not follow recipes the first time I make them but I needed to get more protein into this meal. I added a pound of chicken and cooked it in the sauce with the beans until the chicken was done. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Rating for taste is ***** but the misdirections (how much cardamon, slice or chop the onions, how much chili powder, etc.) drop it a notch. I used dried kidney beans (3 parts water to 1 part beans) and cooked the whole thing for about 90 minutes until the beans were done. They absorb the flavor of the spices and probably contributed to the taste of this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Don't know how the kiddies would like it, but I feel it is a wonderful recipe. 25 minutes and it's on the table, plus it tastes absolutely wonderful. Spiced perfectly, and it didn't need any extra help (aside from the garam masala!). I used canned plum tomatoes and the tomato juice to beef it up a bit, but I'm sure water would be fine. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll make it many times for those nights when I'm in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Delicious and easy! Be careful when doubling (or tripling) the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
great dish! After reading the reviews, I added a bit more cinnamon. I also used canned whole tomatoes as I had no fresh ones on hand and used dried beans instead. After soaking them overnight I cooked the dish for 1h30min and all the flavors blended very well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This vegetarian recipe packs a nice spicy punch after an initial sweet taste. We were pleased with this and will be making it again. We did not have whole cloves or a cinnamon stick so we substituted 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves and cinnamon and this seemed to be appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I just made this recipe. It's pretty good. Although, the spices seem to be outweighed by the volume of tomatoes and onions. I would add probably double the peppercorns, cloves and a little more cinnamon (maybe a touch ground). Also, the recipe doesn't specify the amount for cardamoms. I used two cardamoms and a pinch of asafetida (tiny bit only!). I would make it again with the variations above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
this is great for restricted diets, eat with the cumin rice and it is great. I freeze it with the rice and then take it to work the next day. It keeps very well, the flavours just get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
If you use your food processor and already have cooked beans, this is not too time consuming. But it really is nothing special. I won't make it again and used the rest in chili to get rid of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Fabulous, zesty dish that tingles the tongue with South Indian flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States