Red Kidney Beans (Rajma) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I just made this recipe. It's pretty good. Although, the spices seem to be outweighed by the volume of tomatoes and onions. I would add probably double the peppercorns, cloves and a little more cinnamon (maybe a touch ground). Also, the recipe doesn't specify the amount for cardamoms. I used two cardamoms and a pinch of asafetida (tiny bit only!). I would make it again with the variations above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Very delicious, and satisfying. I served it with rice and kabobs and my husband was thrilled. Definitely going to be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
A bit labor intensive for a side dish, but it is *wonderful*. I give it the highest rating. Goes very well with any Dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
We had this on rice, and it was wonderful and surprising! I wasn't sure about all of the ingredients, and find that a lot of veggie recipes sorely lack for meat, but this curry tasted really fresh and satisfying. I will definitely make this again, especially for those friends who think that a meal isn't complete without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Just finished eating this wonderful dish! Followed the recipe exactly & loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Not bad, but also nothing terribly special. I had a hard time eating a meal-sized portion, and had no real desire to finish the leftovers. I'll keep looking for a way to season red beans that makes me want to eat more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
this is great for restricted diets, eat with the cumin rice and it is great. I freeze it with the rice and then take it to work the next day. It keeps very well, the flavours just get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
If you use your food processor and already have cooked beans, this is not too time consuming. But it really is nothing special. I won't make it again and used the rest in chili to get rid of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Don't know how the kiddies would like it, but I feel it is a wonderful recipe. 25 minutes and it's on the table, plus it tastes absolutely wonderful. Spiced perfectly, and it didn't need any extra help (aside from the garam masala!). I used canned plum tomatoes and the tomato juice to beef it up a bit, but I'm sure water would be fine. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll make it many times for those nights when I'm in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Delicious and easy! Be careful when doubling (or tripling) the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States