Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Such a quick, simple and easy way of eating tomatoes and much more interesting than just eating them cold in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wanted to cut down on the calories for these and was out of basil, so I used just a tablespoon of olive oil and added water, and used about 2 tbs. of seasoning from dry italian dressing packet as well as thyme and oregano. I fried them in cooking spray instead of olive oil and these were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe tasted so good! I didn't expect to like it so much! I used fresh herbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made these several times in the past 2 weeks. I used smallish roma tomatoes, seeded and left to drain on a paper towel, since another review warned they could be over-moist and I hate the seeds anyways. I initially halved the recipe, but had enough for 4 roma tomatoes. They smell beautiflu when cooking and the taste of all the herbs is not as strong as it my seem. A great, very easy way to add veggies to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
These tomatoes were great! Although they got even better when I added Mozzarella Cheese. There was enough herbage for four tomatoes, even better. These were fabuloso!! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!!! Complements any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a tasty dish. This is my second time preparing this tasty dish. In my first review, I suggested to reduce the amount of basil and thyme by half. Instead of white pepper, I used black pepper. I used cherry tomatoes instead of plum or Roma tomatoes and I dipped them in the basil and thyme mixture before frying them in a wok in olive oil. It turned out great! I accompanied this pleasant side-dish with Dijon mashed potatoes, pork in mushroom Dijon sauce and Cajun deviled eggs, which contain lots of Dijon. Great combination! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious, fast and easy! i didn't have any thyme on hand so i chopped 3 garlic cloves. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i thought these were great and i sliced my tomatoes in abt. 1/4" slices. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder. be careful to keep an eye on them while they cook--i got busy and forgot them--and accidently stewed the majority of them which tastes pretty foul. also, there is a LOT of paste, so either dbl. the number of tomatoes or cut the ingredients for the paste part of the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My favorite alternative to salad! :) But, I add cheese & bake these in the toaster oven. I drizzle the tomato halves w/ olive oil, sprinkle on some shredded cheese - then top w/ the seasonings called for. Bake at 300 for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States