Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made these several times in the past 2 weeks. I used smallish roma tomatoes, seeded and left to drain on a paper towel, since another review warned they could be over-moist and I hate the seeds anyways. I initially halved the recipe, but had enough for 4 roma tomatoes. They smell beautiflu when cooking and the taste of all the herbs is not as strong as it my seem. A great, very easy way to add veggies to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
These tomatoes were great! Although they got even better when I added Mozzarella Cheese. There was enough herbage for four tomatoes, even better. These were fabuloso!! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!!! Complements any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe tasted so good! I didn't expect to like it so much! I used fresh herbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Such a quick, simple and easy way of eating tomatoes and much more interesting than just eating them cold in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wanted to cut down on the calories for these and was out of basil, so I used just a tablespoon of olive oil and added water, and used about 2 tbs. of seasoning from dry italian dressing packet as well as thyme and oregano. I fried them in cooking spray instead of olive oil and these were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a tasty dish. This is my second time preparing this tasty dish. In my first review, I suggested to reduce the amount of basil and thyme by half. Instead of white pepper, I used black pepper. I used cherry tomatoes instead of plum or Roma tomatoes and I dipped them in the basil and thyme mixture before frying them in a wok in olive oil. It turned out great! I accompanied this pleasant side-dish with Dijon mashed potatoes, pork in mushroom Dijon sauce and Cajun deviled eggs, which contain lots of Dijon. Great combination! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious, fast and easy! i didn't have any thyme on hand so i chopped 3 garlic cloves. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i thought these were great and i sliced my tomatoes in abt. 1/4" slices. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder. be careful to keep an eye on them while they cook--i got busy and forgot them--and accidently stewed the majority of them which tastes pretty foul. also, there is a LOT of paste, so either dbl. the number of tomatoes or cut the ingredients for the paste part of the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My favorite alternative to salad! :) But, I add cheese & bake these in the toaster oven. I drizzle the tomato halves w/ olive oil, sprinkle on some shredded cheese - then top w/ the seasonings called for. Bake at 300 for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States