Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My favorite alternative to salad! :) But, I add cheese & bake these in the toaster oven. I drizzle the tomato halves w/ olive oil, sprinkle on some shredded cheese - then top w/ the seasonings called for. Bake at 300 for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The cooking method itself is definitely worth trying again, and this was a pretty addition to the plate. However, even tho' I cut way back on the herbs this still was a little overpowering for my taste. In the future I will either use fresh herbs, or cut back even further on the dried. I used red, ripe tomatoes, as the Roma were only pinkish in my market, and sliced them about 1/2" thick, which was just perfect for both heating and serving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
These tomatoes were great! Although they got even better when I added Mozzarella Cheese. There was enough herbage for four tomatoes, even better. These were fabuloso!! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!!! Complements any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a great idea, but I think the seasoning measurements are way off! This is a huge waste of basil and thyme. Cut down on these spices by a lot! I think the tablespoons might have been teaspoons in the original recipe. Also, we felt like this really lacked salt. We ended up adding a lot afterwards. Additionally, cooking them over medium-low heat was pointless. We think that if they were seered over very high heat or perhaps cooked on a grill, they would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i thought these were great and i sliced my tomatoes in abt. 1/4" slices. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder. be careful to keep an eye on them while they cook--i got busy and forgot them--and accidently stewed the majority of them which tastes pretty foul. also, there is a LOT of paste, so either dbl. the number of tomatoes or cut the ingredients for the paste part of the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were good. I used italian seasoning because I had it in the cupboard. Try to spread the paste thinly on the tomato, or it is a little pungent. I did put mozzerella on and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made these several times in the past 2 weeks. I used smallish roma tomatoes, seeded and left to drain on a paper towel, since another review warned they could be over-moist and I hate the seeds anyways. I initially halved the recipe, but had enough for 4 roma tomatoes. They smell beautiflu when cooking and the taste of all the herbs is not as strong as it my seem. A great, very easy way to add veggies to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a tasty dish. This is my second time preparing this tasty dish. In my first review, I suggested to reduce the amount of basil and thyme by half. Instead of white pepper, I used black pepper. I used cherry tomatoes instead of plum or Roma tomatoes and I dipped them in the basil and thyme mixture before frying them in a wok in olive oil. It turned out great! I accompanied this pleasant side-dish with Dijon mashed potatoes, pork in mushroom Dijon sauce and Cajun deviled eggs, which contain lots of Dijon. Great combination! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I'm rating this in the mid-range mostly because I used the idea of the recipe, rather than following the recipe closely, after reading other comments questioning the proportions. I did like what I did, though, and it didn't really seem different enough to merit posting as a completely separate recipe, so here it is 1. I cut 5 roma tomatoes in half along the narrow side and put them on the toaster oven pan. I also preheated the toaster oven to its highest temp. 2. I sprinkled the tomatoes with coarse sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, and a little garlic powder. 3. I topped each tomato half with a fresh basil leaf, then sprayed a light mist of olive oil over everything. 4. I broiled the tomatoes just long enough for them to bubble a bit and look a little foamy, then took them out and served immediately. They were quite good this way! Thank you for the idea, Little Oregon Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States