Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My favorite alternative to salad! :) But, I add cheese & bake these in the toaster oven. I drizzle the tomato halves w/ olive oil, sprinkle on some shredded cheese - then top w/ the seasonings called for. Bake at 300 for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The cooking method itself is definitely worth trying again, and this was a pretty addition to the plate. However, even tho' I cut way back on the herbs this still was a little overpowering for my taste. In the future I will either use fresh herbs, or cut back even further on the dried. I used red, ripe tomatoes, as the Roma were only pinkish in my market, and sliced them about 1/2" thick, which was just perfect for both heating and serving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
These tomatoes were great! Although they got even better when I added Mozzarella Cheese. There was enough herbage for four tomatoes, even better. These were fabuloso!! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!!! Complements any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a great idea, but I think the seasoning measurements are way off! This is a huge waste of basil and thyme. Cut down on these spices by a lot! I think the tablespoons might have been teaspoons in the original recipe. Also, we felt like this really lacked salt. We ended up adding a lot afterwards. Additionally, cooking them over medium-low heat was pointless. We think that if they were seered over very high heat or perhaps cooked on a grill, they would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i thought these were great and i sliced my tomatoes in abt. 1/4" slices. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder. be careful to keep an eye on them while they cook--i got busy and forgot them--and accidently stewed the majority of them which tastes pretty foul. also, there is a LOT of paste, so either dbl. the number of tomatoes or cut the ingredients for the paste part of the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were good. I used italian seasoning because I had it in the cupboard. Try to spread the paste thinly on the tomato, or it is a little pungent. I did put mozzerella on and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made these several times in the past 2 weeks. I used smallish roma tomatoes, seeded and left to drain on a paper towel, since another review warned they could be over-moist and I hate the seeds anyways. I initially halved the recipe, but had enough for 4 roma tomatoes. They smell beautiflu when cooking and the taste of all the herbs is not as strong as it my seem. A great, very easy way to add veggies to my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a tasty dish. This is my second time preparing this tasty dish. In my first review, I suggested to reduce the amount of basil and thyme by half. Instead of white pepper, I used black pepper. I used cherry tomatoes instead of plum or Roma tomatoes and I dipped them in the basil and thyme mixture before frying them in a wok in olive oil. It turned out great! I accompanied this pleasant side-dish with Dijon mashed potatoes, pork in mushroom Dijon sauce and Cajun deviled eggs, which contain lots of Dijon. Great combination! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I'm rating this in the mid-range mostly because I used the idea of the recipe, rather than following the recipe closely, after reading other comments questioning the proportions. I did like what I did, though, and it didn't really seem different enough to merit posting as a completely separate recipe, so here it is 1. I cut 5 roma tomatoes in half along the narrow side and put them on the toaster oven pan. I also preheated the toaster oven to its highest temp. 2. I sprinkled the tomatoes with coarse sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, and a little garlic powder. 3. I topped each tomato half with a fresh basil leaf, then sprayed a light mist of olive oil over everything. 4. I broiled the tomatoes just long enough for them to bubble a bit and look a little foamy, then took them out and served immediately. They were quite good this way! Thank you for the idea, Little Oregon Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States