Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Sorry, I followed the directions exactly but felt the tomatoes lacked something. I made double the recipe, but since we didn't eat them all, I cut the leftovers up into a salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a great idea, but I think the seasoning measurements are way off! This is a huge waste of basil and thyme. Cut down on these spices by a lot! I think the tablespoons might have been teaspoons in the original recipe. Also, we felt like this really lacked salt. We ended up adding a lot afterwards. Additionally, cooking them over medium-low heat was pointless. We think that if they were seered over very high heat or perhaps cooked on a grill, they would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wanted to cut down on the calories for these and was out of basil, so I used just a tablespoon of olive oil and added water, and used about 2 tbs. of seasoning from dry italian dressing packet as well as thyme and oregano. I fried them in cooking spray instead of olive oil and these were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Such a quick, simple and easy way of eating tomatoes and much more interesting than just eating them cold in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Didn't turn out like I had hoped - tomatoes were mushy and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
They were alright, I think too much herbs in the end. I didn't finish mine and the guests weren't too keen on them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Very good. I topped with fresh mozzarella the last minute or so of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe tasted so good! I didn't expect to like it so much! I used fresh herbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were good. I used italian seasoning because I had it in the cupboard. Try to spread the paste thinly on the tomato, or it is a little pungent. I did put mozzerella on and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States