Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Sorry, I followed the directions exactly but felt the tomatoes lacked something. I made double the recipe, but since we didn't eat them all, I cut the leftovers up into a salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a great idea, but I think the seasoning measurements are way off! This is a huge waste of basil and thyme. Cut down on these spices by a lot! I think the tablespoons might have been teaspoons in the original recipe. Also, we felt like this really lacked salt. We ended up adding a lot afterwards. Additionally, cooking them over medium-low heat was pointless. We think that if they were seered over very high heat or perhaps cooked on a grill, they would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I wanted to cut down on the calories for these and was out of basil, so I used just a tablespoon of olive oil and added water, and used about 2 tbs. of seasoning from dry italian dressing packet as well as thyme and oregano. I fried them in cooking spray instead of olive oil and these were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Such a quick, simple and easy way of eating tomatoes and much more interesting than just eating them cold in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Didn't turn out like I had hoped - tomatoes were mushy and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
They were alright, I think too much herbs in the end. I didn't finish mine and the guests weren't too keen on them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Very good. I topped with fresh mozzarella the last minute or so of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe tasted so good! I didn't expect to like it so much! I used fresh herbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were good. I used italian seasoning because I had it in the cupboard. Try to spread the paste thinly on the tomato, or it is a little pungent. I did put mozzerella on and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS. i made them in slices and cut the cooking time, and they were a big hit. very flavorful; a perfect appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States