Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I added fresh mozzarella cheese on top, it added a nice taste to it. But it seemed like the tomatoes should have cooked a little longer, they tasted very fresh and didn't have that cooked zest to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were really good. It was hard to get the paste to stay on the tomatoes however. Next time I will add garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This recipe was a HUGE hit at a party. I like to serve nonweird vegetarian food as a way to sway people and these did the trick. They disappeared so fast and were so easy to make. LOVES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I think there were too many herbs for the amount of oil. My tomatoes also came out a little too runny, but that was probably my own fault for leaving them in too long. It's a delicate balance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Thes were very good after I added mozzarella cheese to them. Even though we enjoyed them, I can only give this recipe 3 stars because the ingredient amounts are so far off the mark. The spice "paste" is not what I would call paste consistency and there was so much of it left over! This was such a waste of perfectly good spices. I also put mine in the oven since I added the cheese. I always try to rate recipes based on the original writing, but the cheese was a must have and wouldn't have changed the fact that there was so much spice mixture left over. Several people have commented on this. I think this would be a fabulous recipe if it was re-written with the correct proportions and started off as a base recipe for at least a serving for six, not two. I will be making these again, but with alot of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Too much seasoning. I think I'll try only half the amount called for next time. Adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Loved this recipe, just added some shredded mozzerella on top and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I'm rating this in the mid-range mostly because I used the idea of the recipe, rather than following the recipe closely, after reading other comments questioning the proportions. I did like what I did, though, and it didn't really seem different enough to merit posting as a completely separate recipe, so here it is 1. I cut 5 roma tomatoes in half along the narrow side and put them on the toaster oven pan. I also preheated the toaster oven to its highest temp. 2. I sprinkled the tomatoes with coarse sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, and a little garlic powder. 3. I topped each tomato half with a fresh basil leaf, then sprayed a light mist of olive oil over everything. 4. I broiled the tomatoes just long enough for them to bubble a bit and look a little foamy, then took them out and served immediately. They were quite good this way! Thank you for the idea, Little Oregon Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Delicious! I did cut back on the mixture like the other reviews indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
as directed, the herbs were too gritty. I sliced the tomatoes, sauteed all the ingredients in a skillet and it came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States