Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I added fresh mozzarella cheese on top, it added a nice taste to it. But it seemed like the tomatoes should have cooked a little longer, they tasted very fresh and didn't have that cooked zest to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were really good. It was hard to get the paste to stay on the tomatoes however. Next time I will add garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This recipe was a HUGE hit at a party. I like to serve nonweird vegetarian food as a way to sway people and these did the trick. They disappeared so fast and were so easy to make. LOVES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I think there were too many herbs for the amount of oil. My tomatoes also came out a little too runny, but that was probably my own fault for leaving them in too long. It's a delicate balance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Thes were very good after I added mozzarella cheese to them. Even though we enjoyed them, I can only give this recipe 3 stars because the ingredient amounts are so far off the mark. The spice "paste" is not what I would call paste consistency and there was so much of it left over! This was such a waste of perfectly good spices. I also put mine in the oven since I added the cheese. I always try to rate recipes based on the original writing, but the cheese was a must have and wouldn't have changed the fact that there was so much spice mixture left over. Several people have commented on this. I think this would be a fabulous recipe if it was re-written with the correct proportions and started off as a base recipe for at least a serving for six, not two. I will be making these again, but with alot of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Too much seasoning. I think I'll try only half the amount called for next time. Adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Loved this recipe, just added some shredded mozzerella on top and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I'm rating this in the mid-range mostly because I used the idea of the recipe, rather than following the recipe closely, after reading other comments questioning the proportions. I did like what I did, though, and it didn't really seem different enough to merit posting as a completely separate recipe, so here it is 1. I cut 5 roma tomatoes in half along the narrow side and put them on the toaster oven pan. I also preheated the toaster oven to its highest temp. 2. I sprinkled the tomatoes with coarse sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, and a little garlic powder. 3. I topped each tomato half with a fresh basil leaf, then sprayed a light mist of olive oil over everything. 4. I broiled the tomatoes just long enough for them to bubble a bit and look a little foamy, then took them out and served immediately. They were quite good this way! Thank you for the idea, Little Oregon Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Delicious! I did cut back on the mixture like the other reviews indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
as directed, the herbs were too gritty. I sliced the tomatoes, sauteed all the ingredients in a skillet and it came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States