Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this! I'm not usually a tomato fan (but love tomato based foods). This was great. I added a little parmesan to the italian seasonings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Simple but lovely. I sliced the tomatoes, arranged on a plate, spiced and drizzled, flipped into the skillet, cooked, and then flipped back onto the oil–spice plate. I overcooked a bit and wouldn't use coarse salt again, but good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is GREAT! Being an avid gardener and having an over-abundance of tomatoes, this recipe is exactly what I was looking for. It's easy to prepare, there's no mess, and, it's delicious! So delicious...I gathered up two more tomatoes after cooking the first two and made a second helping! :) LOVE IT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
These were not good at all. I found the seasonings were way too overpowering and I found myself unable to eat them. It's a shame too, I was really looking forward to these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I wanted to love this but didn't - the herbs were too herby (strong) for us, and a ton of it fell off when frying. Giving it 4 stars though - if you love basil and thyme, then you will love this one (it's just not our thing). Also took a few off the pan and threw them under the broiler with some cheese - that was a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have always disliked tomatoes, but as I get older, my tastes seem to be changing, so I decided to give this recipe a try. However, as written didn't really work out for me, and I ended up experimenting with it a little. I think it is a good basic recipe to play around with. Definitely to much thyme for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Wonderful! I agree that the proportions are a bit off, though. I halved the amount of herbs used, and added a bit of cheese as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
i make this quite regularly w/o ever having read this recipe! if i have a cheesy main dish then this complements it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
awesome results and the best flavors then i thought would result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountain mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide and halved some on the vine tomatoes and just sprinkled them with basil, thyme, salt and white pepper. I didn’t measure and I know I didn’t use nearly the amounts listed in the recipe. I baked mine at 350 for 10 minutes and then topped them with some shredded mozzarella and broiled them until the mozzarella started to brown. A nice recipe, but only if you adjust the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States