Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this! I'm not usually a tomato fan (but love tomato based foods). This was great. I added a little parmesan to the italian seasonings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Simple but lovely. I sliced the tomatoes, arranged on a plate, spiced and drizzled, flipped into the skillet, cooked, and then flipped back onto the oil–spice plate. I overcooked a bit and wouldn't use coarse salt again, but good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is GREAT! Being an avid gardener and having an over-abundance of tomatoes, this recipe is exactly what I was looking for. It's easy to prepare, there's no mess, and, it's delicious! So delicious...I gathered up two more tomatoes after cooking the first two and made a second helping! :) LOVE IT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
These were not good at all. I found the seasonings were way too overpowering and I found myself unable to eat them. It's a shame too, I was really looking forward to these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I wanted to love this but didn't - the herbs were too herby (strong) for us, and a ton of it fell off when frying. Giving it 4 stars though - if you love basil and thyme, then you will love this one (it's just not our thing). Also took a few off the pan and threw them under the broiler with some cheese - that was a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have always disliked tomatoes, but as I get older, my tastes seem to be changing, so I decided to give this recipe a try. However, as written didn't really work out for me, and I ended up experimenting with it a little. I think it is a good basic recipe to play around with. Definitely to much thyme for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Wonderful! I agree that the proportions are a bit off, though. I halved the amount of herbs used, and added a bit of cheese as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
i make this quite regularly w/o ever having read this recipe! if i have a cheesy main dish then this complements it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
awesome results and the best flavors then i thought would result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountain mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide and halved some on the vine tomatoes and just sprinkled them with basil, thyme, salt and white pepper. I didn’t measure and I know I didn’t use nearly the amounts listed in the recipe. I baked mine at 350 for 10 minutes and then topped them with some shredded mozzarella and broiled them until the mozzarella started to brown. A nice recipe, but only if you adjust the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States