Red Hot Applesauce Jell-O® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! I actually had this on Thanksgiving for the first time and couldn't quit eating it. It takes about five minutes to whip up and your house smells fabulous while doing so. It's just the right amount of cinnamon. In reading the previous reviews, a few people have commented on the texture...ironically enough, the texture is one of the things I enjoyed most about this recipe. It actually feels as though it has some body, unlike plain Jello dishes. Five stars for me without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is been a tradition in our family for years but we use sugar free jello and like a bit more bite so I use a cup of red hots. I hate sugar free jello but in this recipe it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by writersam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kdriggs13
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Thanks for the comments. This is not a Jell-O to be eaten on it's own. This is definitely a great complement to a ham, which is the only time I make this. My husband is not a big fan either, but I can't seem to eat ham without it anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdriggs13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I thought this was ok. Others said they liked it and said it was delicious, but most of it was still left at the end of the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Our family has loved this for years, only we've always used Lemon Jello. Also, we ALWAYS double the recipe. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tontitown, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved it last year but some comments about it being too sweet. Used unsweetened apple sauce and it was perfect. Repeat requests for this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This has been a Christmas tradition for years. Our pan is always empty and the children love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Kids loved this, hubby said it was ok, and I thought it was way too sweet. The candy and cherry jello together was just too much sugar. I would definitely consider this, as written, a dessert. Next time I'm going to try it using tart cherry juice instead of water, and then unflavored gelatin. The red-hots will be plenty of sugar, and will still give it that lovely red color too. Might also try it with lemon jello like bevist says here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I loved it. My husband didn't. Can we ever have a majority vote at my house? I'll make it again but probably when I have company so I don't have to eat it all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States